My coding journey ….

Sk Sahil Islam
3 min readAug 8, 2022

--

A journey which may decide my career.

I started my journey with C++, you may ask why this and not java or python; here’s what my peers said:

C++ allows you to have a lot of control as to how you use computer resources, so in the right hands, its speed and ability to cheaply use resources should be able to surpass other languages its also very reliable if you decide to program competitively in the future. Thanks to C++’s performance, it is often used to develop game engines, games, and desktop apps.

It’s been 6 days since I started cording with C++, and by far I'm loving it.

DAY 1 .

First I searched YouTube for a C++tutorial video and I came across
freeCodeCamp.org they have 6 mil subscribers, the video is titled ‘C++ Programming Course — Beginner to Advanced’ which has fairly good response and also new so I went for it.

Firstly he showed how to install compiler , an IDLE, etc. Then he went for the basic C++ syntax. It was pretty easy for me as I have some basic knowledge about python.

DAY 2 .

I decided to practice 30 min for my typing speed from typingclub.com which I will highly recommend because they have a great UI with professionally curated videos and tips. Initially my speed was 32 wpm which is average.

At this day I learnt about booleans, variables, assignments and operations, played with some self made questions.

DAY 3 .

These day was a real hoot, me and my family went on a road trip. We visited places travelled from dusk till dawn, nothing more just a family day.

DAY 4 .

The mind-numbing day begins with typing practice and good old frosted flakes.

Today’s C++ menu involved loops, arrays, else if statements, and a whole lot of head scratching because of pointers. Before that I never heard of pointers in the hindsight it looked simple but as I went deeper and deeper the tunnel widen yet I continued.

DAY 5 .

This day I came back to all the 100 lessons I already practiced to get perfect score for all the lessons, which I did though it took me 2 hours but it was worth it . And went through a lot of topics references, std::string and its manipulations, the almighty Functions, IO parameters, lambda functions, capture lists, and function templates.

DAY 6 .

Started my day with typing speed test which significantly increased to 38 wpm and proceeded to binge watch 10 episodes of Legend of the Galactic Heroes Anime.

Went on a 1 hour walk and when I came back did some leg workout and started watching YouTube videos on improving yourself for interviews, typing skills and writing skills. This is the reason why at 12:07 am midnight I am writing this blog my first ever blog.

Finally…

If you read through all these I am really grateful, these is my first blog matter of fact my first writing so I know it is pretty messy and there may be grammatical mistakes but in the future I will try my blogs to be more gratifying. Also sorry I couldn’t detailed my daily life or it would have been very long.

Once again thank you. 🙏🙏

--

--