What is L-O-V-E?

Manya Darsha
2 min readMay 13, 2024

What is it exactly?

The heart-wrenching soul-curdling feeling L-O-V-E.

I was introduced to it by my good friend Kanaya at the young age of 12 when she had a so-called crush and decided to update the friend group about it. I was in an all-girls school so naturally, my interaction with the male species was very limited. I remember our whole friend group surrounding her in the break and listening to her go on and on about this one guy she liked and we were all ears. We hadn’t met him yet but we knew practically everything there was to know about him, his full name, his family’s name, the number of siblings he had, his height, his hair length, his personality, his way of talking, how he has dimples on only one cheek when he smiles and most importantly, how he makes her feel like she’s on top of the world. That’s when I thought to myself ah, I would love to get myself one of these creatures.

Everything was amazing about him we adored the boy for our best friend and felt she was so lucky to find herself someone she really truly desires. Then one day she came to us crying and said it was something to do about him. So, what had happened was he had been mean to her the previous day and yelled at her in front of all his friends only cause she was late to meet them by 10 minutes. I felt so bad for her and as a good friend I advised her never to speak to him again. But then to my surprise, she replied, “That's not possible Sneha, I’m in L-O-V-E with this person and I can’t stop myself from talking to him no matter what he says to me”, and I was quiet, the little old me felt very confused as to what just happened. Is she really going to ignore this huge thing only because of a four-letter word? That’s absurd and what does that even mean L-O-V-E?

That day I thought to myself I would never L-O-V-E any person who is like this. I will find someone who respects me and would never yell at me and once I do I would L-O-V-E him. But boy was I wrong—little old naive me.

Part 2 in the next post.

--

--