Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion and Purpose — Book Notes

Tony Hsieh

Si Quan Ong
7 min readJul 2, 2018

Published: 2013

About high school:

“Computer lab shenanigans aside, I tried to expose myself to as many interesting things in high school as possible. My thought was that the more perspectives I could gain, the better.”

About truth:

“Sometimes the truth alone isn’t enough, and that presentation of the truth was just as important as the truth.”

“I started going to Vegas every other weekend to play poker. I wasn’t playing for the money. It was about the challenge of figuring out how to beat the game.”

About the years before the dot-com boom:

“The world was about to change in a dramatic way, and I was about to miss out on it so that I could make even more money when I already had all the money I would ever need.

And then I stopped thinking to myself and started talking to myself:

“There will never be another 1999. What are you going to do about it?”

About poker and life lessons:

“One of the most interesting things about playing poker was learning the discipline of not confusing the right decision with the individual outcome of…

--

--