Thinking in Bets: Making Smarter Decisions When You Don’t Have All The Facts — Book Notes

Annie Duke

Si Quan Ong
13 min readAug 12, 2018

Published: 2018

  • A bet: a decision about an uncertain future. The implications of treating decisions as bets made it possible for me to find learning opportunities in uncertain environments. Treating decisions as bets, I discovered, helped me avoid common decision traps, learn from results in a more rational way, and keep emotions out of the process as much as possible.
  • Thinking in bets starts with recognizing that there are exactly two things that determine how our lives turn out: the quality of our decisions and luck. Learning to recognize the difference between the two is what thinking in bets is all about.

Chapter 1: Life is Poker, Not Chess

  • Pete Carroll was a victim of our tendency to equate the quality of a decision with the quality of its outcome. Poker players have a word for this: “resulting”. When I started playing poker, more experienced players warned me about the dangers of resulting, cautioning me to resist the temptation to change my strategy just because a few hands didn’t turn out well in the short run.
  • Resulting is a routine thinking pattern that bedevils all of us. Drawing an overly tight relationship between…

--

--