Well, Cloud Computing is like using a laundromat…

Saurabh Kumar
7 min readAug 31, 2018

(Laundromat: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-service_laundry)

Recently, I volunteered at an event at my work where we were spreading awareness about various certifications in different areas. I was representing cloud computing certifications from major players and the related career paths they may lead to. This event was open for all employees including those who were not so much involved with IT. During that event, two ladies happen to visit the table I was on. One of them asked, “so what’s cloud computing?”

I think I had assumed that everyone would have some level of understanding of what cloud computing is. I started answering the question with that assumption in my mind. But after a few sentences, I realized I wasn't making any sense to her. I paused and in the back of my mind, I was looking for something that makes her understand it. Fortunately, something struck my mind. I told her that cloud computing is like using a laundromat versus buying your own washer-dryer. That was it. She seemed satisfied with the analogy and left.

After about fifteen, she returned with her other colleague who also didn't know what cloud computing was. I recognized her. But before I could say anything, my fellow volunteer took responsibility of explaining her what cloud computing meant. Few minutes later, she repeated my words to her saying, “Cloud computing was like using a laundromat versus buying your own washer dryer”. All of us starting laughing. Her colleague found it funny but at the same time it kind of narrated the cloud computing story to her at very very high level. They left saying they could now tell there husbands what cloud computing was.

The event was over and I got back to my normal routine but I was still thinking of the analogy I gave to that lady. I thought of taking the analogy a bit seriously and started building it. Here is my laundromat story.

Let’s say I am single, working and living in a rented apartment away from my parents. One of my needs is to get my clothes (not too many, of course) washed. For my kind of load, doing laundry once a month is sufficient. I chose to use laundromat. I take my clothes once a month to a laundromat, use their washer-dryer. I enjoy the complimentary magazines they offer while I wait for my clothes to get washed. I pay for washing once a month. Life is good.

One year later, I got married. Now it’s two of us, meaning more clothes to get washed and more frequently. I decide to buy a small washer and a small dryer. Now I wash my clothes as many times I need without having to step out of my apartment. I am not paying to the laundromat guy anymore. But now I realized my electricity and water bills got higher. Occasionally, I am paying for the maintenance which is not covered in the “limited” 2 year warranty. Well, life is still good as I am saving time (not having to go laundromat) to spend with my wife.

Few years of good life, my family grows and now I have a kid. Even more clothes to wash, that too, even more frequently. Now we felt the need for a bigger washer-dryer. I work on my budget, wait for “Black Friday” and get a newer, bigger washer-dryer. A big chunk of what would have been my saving has gone with it. But life is good as the frequency of washing has gone down ( remember I, now, have a bigger washing machine). Unfortunately, it turns out that the bigger washer-dryer were not as energy efficient as they were advertised. My energy bill has gone higher. I find solace in the fact that I am saving some time not having to go to the laundromat.

Few more years pass by, now we are family of four. It is a no-brainer that it means more washing of clothes. But this time, technology has evolved a lot. They have come out with washer-dryers that can be operated with a click on my phone. This seems like a very compelling reason to “upgrade” to this IoT enabled washer-dryer as it would save me some precious time I can spend in helping my kids with their Lego creations (by not having to go to laundromat or by not having to walk to the laundry room). I buy it. The overall amount of money, including the monthly installment, electricity and water bills, maintenance, that goes out of my pocket has increased.

Days, years go by. I see a new laundromat opened nearby. Their advertisement says, “Laundromat ‘Service’- No need to step out of your house for using laundromat”. I am fascinated by the fact that I can “offload” my work of washing the clothes to someone else and enjoy family time while my clothes get washed. Also, they get delivered at home for a very nominal service fee. Guess what, I sell off my fancy washer-dryer and switch to Laundromat service. After all, what I need is to get my clothes washed…

I think you would have been drawing a parallel narrative of Cloud computing as you were reading it, I would briefly mention the main aspects and concepts.

Let’s look at different flavors of cloud computing:

  1. Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS): You don’t spend money if buying servers and related infrastructure (like, the real estate, hardware devices etc.), instead use those computing resources provided by some cloud provider such as Amazon Web Service, Google or Microsoft Azure. For example, if you are currently running a MySql database on a Linux server that you own. IaaS equivalent would be that you run the database on a server managed by let’s say AWS. You are using the underlying infrastructure. the server in this case, from a cloud provider. In my laundromat analogy, it means I don’t spend money on buying a washer-dryer and use the washer-dryer installed in the laundromat. Also, I use the washer room as my office space/personal library (hey, it is still better than no designated space :)
  2. Platform as s Service (PaaS): PaaS offers some useful products/services that streamlines your computing needs further. In the above example, Platform as a Service could be that the cloud provider also offers MySql database setup on their server. You can choose to use their platform and use the database setup along with their server. You still have to manage it. In my analogy, PaaS could be an iron and iron-stand for ironing my clothes right after washing and drying. It sort of provides me with the “platform” ironing along with washing-drying.
  3. Software as a Service (SaaS): A SaaS offerring is a fully managed product, ready for use by the customer. Continuing our MySql Database example, SaaS would mean that the cloud provider offers to run and manage the MySql database for you. In this offering, they are managing not only the server but also the database. So, you just directly use the MySql database. In my analogy, SaaS would mean that I drop off my clothes at the laundromat and pick up washed and ironed clothes after some time.

Now, let’s take a look at the main quality attributes of cloud computing such as:

  1. Scalability: Cloud offerings gives you capability to scale when your computing needs grow. In my analogy, I have my brother and his family visiting me over summer vacation. This means I would be washing more clothes over summer. Should I buy another washer-dryer? Where would I keep them? Laundromat to the rescue! I can take more clothes to the laundromat and use more than one washer and dryer at the same time.
  2. Elasticity: Somewhat related to Scalability yet different, elasticity mean ability to stretch and shrink as your computing needs change. So, what does it mean in terms of my washing of clothes analogy? Let’s see. I gave away my office space to keep a new washer-dryer for my extra washing needs for summer ( I am good planner, planned well in advance for my visitors). Summer washing went smoothly, phew. But now my visitors are gone, what do I do with this extra washer and dryer. Plus, I need my office space back to work late nights (when do you think I write stories like this :) without disturbing anyone. Clearly, my model is scalable but NOT elastic. Again, laundromat to the rescue! Use more washing machines when there is more load and use fewer when load is back to normal.

There are many other attributes associated with cloud computing such as fault tolerance, lower cost of ownership (pay-per-use), low time to market, etc. I think the analogy gives you enough idea to relate to these attributes as well.

As a final thought, I am mentioning what looks to be a typical journey of many companies which are in a business other than IT but depend and spend a lot on IT:

  1. “Single, Not much $$, light load of clothes”- That means I don’t have not much capital, have some business idea (let’s say launching a retail website) to try out. I use my home computer as server to launch my website.
  2. “Married, increased load of clothes”- meaning my business idea is picking up and I need more computers to serve my client base. I am spending more $$ in getting compute resources (I am bundling all resources under ‘compute’ for the sake of simplicity), maintenance and bills.
  3. “Kids, more and frequent washing; smarter washer-dryer” — meaning my business has picked up significantly. I have to buy more servers. Also, I have to spend more on regular maintenance/upgrades of my IT hardware assets.
  4. “Laundromat service” — meaning instead of me spending money on keeping up my IT resources with my demand, I use Cloud Services and have them deal with my business demand. I could now focus on my core business line.

So, don’t you think Cloud computing is a lot like using a laundromat?

Let me know what you think…

--

--