How I Turned My Travel Experiences Into A Steady Cash Flow

Sky Ariella
7 min readMar 17, 2023

Replicating this easy 5-step process could help build your own credible travel writing career and make money writing online.

Girl in camper
Photo by Athena: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-at-the-window-of-a-camper-1990202/

It all started with a sandwich.

A delicious, masterfully-created sandwich, but a sandwich nonetheless. Well, a torta to be specific.

I’d been puttering around a tiny town in the Oaxacan Mountains when a guy called out to me from his restaurant in Spanish, urging me to come in and try some of their food. I appreciated his moxie and sat down as his wife prepared me for the mouth-watering local specialty.

He gave me the full tour of the place, La Casa del Alebrije, and introduced me to their signature black cat. After he walked me around his work-in-progress establishment and I tasted just how good their food was, I felt inspired. I’d been a professional writer for over a year, but I was doing bland copy work and content about careers. This guy’s sandwich was so good that it gave me the kick to start writing about my travels again.

I never could have guessed that meal, that burst of inspiration, would lead me to become a paid, credited travel writer with one of the top online travel websites in the game. Now, I earn thousands writing about my travel experiences around the world and sharing my knowledge with other travelers.

--

--

Sky Ariella

A travel/lifestyle writer who craves all things adrenaline. From New York, but going everywhere. http://skyariella.com / IG: @skyariella / Twitter: @sky_ariella