I Took These 4 Simple Steps To Make My First $1,000 From Writing

Sky Ariella
6 min readJan 20, 2023
Blonde girl standing on mountain in front of ocean

My words have earned me nearly six figures after years of living paycheck to paycheck.

When the clock struck midnight and 2023 waltzed in, I had officially been a writer for three years. Three-years-ago me couldn’t have dreamed of living off the money I make writing on my computer. To her, it was her wildest fantasy.

Three-year’s-of-experience-writer me knows that fantasies are just the first step in reaching reality. When I looked back on how I became a successful full-time writer, I realized that it all boiled down to four simple steps.

  • Step 1: Actively Fantasize
  • Step 2: Samples
  • Step 3: Pitch
  • Step 4: Putting It All Together

With these four steps, I unlocked the door to unlimited writing opportunities. A smorgasbord of chances to make money with words. And this is how I did it.

Step 1: Actively Fantasize ← You Are Here!

Hands typing on laptop

There are active fantasies, and there are passive ones.

--

--

Sky Ariella

A travel/lifestyle writer who craves all things adrenaline. From New York, but going everywhere. http://skyariella.com / IG: @skyariella / Twitter: @sky_ariella