Looking For Life In Cyberspace

Who am I?

René Beauchemin - [he/him]
2 min readJan 28, 2023
This is a self-portrait made using AI. It flatters the reality of who I am.

This is my first post on Medium in an incarnation as a Jungian Shamanic Medicine Man. Jungian?

Yes. I have studied Jungian psychology for about 35 years and have taken multiple courses in Jungian psychology, and psychology in general. Am I an expert? Not in the slightest. I honestly think that no one can become an expert in Jungian psychology.

As for Medicine man or Shaman, well that is another word for being a psychotherapist who works with the psyche and the soul of humans. Dreams, stories from the ancient past all have a role to play in how we understand ourselves, something vital if we are to be in healthy relationships.

For the present, I can be found somewhere along the western coast of Mexico where I take long hikes in both the jungle and along the sea. I almost always take a camera with me so that I can capture the mood of the day, as well as my own mood.

Colorful barnacles on a log masquerading as a hungry sea snake.

When I take a photo, how I see and feel the world gets captured along with the scene. After all, I can walk the same route numerous times and see the world differently each time.

--

--

René Beauchemin - [he/him]

I am not who I appear to be. As a naturist, I can be seen clothing-free. As humans we need to be honest with who we are beneath persona and camouflage.