Rewriting Ego’s Nuanced Essence

Reinventing myself, one post, one story at a time.

René Beauchemin - [he/him]
5 min readMay 18, 2023
Hanging on for dear life — © SkyCladTherapy

It was tough coming up with a title for this post. It was only with reading a post by Toni The Talker that I decided to make an acronym using my first name, R-E-N-E. Even with that decision made, coming up with four words that speak to the truth of my presence here wasn’t made any easier.

To begin with, René translates to Re-Born. Since I am attempting to rebirth myself here on Medium through writing, the word REWRITING came to mind. That was the easiest word as it is what I am doing with two stories I am publishing serially. A pilgrimage story at Serial Stories, and a historical fiction loosely tied to my own ancestral roots.

In this story, it looks as though I am walking the Camino. Well, the truth is I did walk the Camino. However, it was with my wife and not the strange cast of characters I had walk with me in the story.

--

--

René Beauchemin - [he/him]

I am not who I appear to be. As a naturist, I can be seen clothing-free. As humans we need to be honest with who we are beneath persona and camouflage.