Ambient Light Sensors

Skyla
1 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

List of sensors I’ve encountered this week:

  1. Cameras
  2. Phone/Computer/Siri
  3. Card Reader Devices
  4. Refrigerators
  5. Automatic Room Lights

My computer and phone have a lot of sensors but the one I find particularly convenient is the ambient light sensor. It adjusts the brightness of my screen based on the amount of ambient light present. This helps me, so I don’t have to adjust my brightness throughout the day. In addition, it makes sure I don’t strain my eyes too much. This is so helpful to me and I wish my other devices like the alarm clock in my room had it. I have to dim the light on my alarm clock at night, or else it will be too bright when I’m trying to go to sleep. Then, when I wake up, it’s too dim, and I can’t even see the time, so I have to keep adjusting it constantly every day. Maybe I’m just too lazy but I find it really annoying. Ultimately, ambient light sensors save me from any kind of unnecessary annoyance.

--

--