Thug Life

Sometimes, its not worth it and you need to rant

Meghbartma Gautam
2 min readSep 19, 2013

--

What does it say when I cant hit chrome again,

How can I be so blase when there is so much to gain?

A lifetime of struggle punctuated by battle,

A multitude of users herded like cattle,

So when they click, and make that call,

I can survive and pretend to stall,

The ever close ceiling that will make me wonder,

The gravity of motion, that will come asunder,

One more line of code, and another feature,

So I can breathe life into this creature,

That can mint money when I press run,

But leaves me broken, unable to face the sun,

Pizzas and Beer, declining health,

Questionable social skills, already shrouded with stealth,

Fatter than ever before and no set schedule,

A nerdy T-shirt, messenger bags that look cool,

And yet i rise, late again,

Motivation tipping and demands insane,

A missed call and errors of my ways,

Why has this deal not been closed in days?

Set targets and bonuses to be spent,

You wonder which way hope went,

But it is a thug life that you signed up for,

Take me back to school, I dont want this war,

Sleepy eyes and timecards to boot,

Putting out fires, lungs stained with soot,

You live to fight

And in spite of in spite,

You keep the faith and soldier on,

Little knowledge and fear of the long con,

This hope, that ebbs and flows,

Keeps me sane when the wind blows,

Happy hours that bond with colleagues,

Revolving doors and warehouse digs,

Its a template that has fooled so many,

Its a punchline that seemed so zany,

But feet up and a commit made,

The race starts again until you are dead,

Is this the life that you really wanted?

Or was it a nightmare that came unsaid?

The addiction fuels your fight for another 2 weeks,

Your games are over when you play for keeps,

Try as you might, this has you hooked more than drugs,

But this life is here, replete with thugs

--

--

Meghbartma Gautam

Building immersive experiences, formerly @Stanford, @Microsoft,@GoPivotal