An Interview with Sandeep, a Jijivisha Storytelling Fellow

Slam Out Loud
2 min readJul 31, 2019

My first class at the Jijivisha Fellowship took place in a basement at Sector 30 Noida, which is a learning center for kids studying in schools around the locality. These were kids studying in classes 6–8 so one would imagine their minds to be as nimble as mice, scurrying from one corner to another.

When I first began telling them about stories and two and three dimensional characters in stories, I found them to be sharp and catching on to every clue and link to solving the maze of stories that I was laying down for them.

We explored Character through Biographies, by writing each others’ Biographies. The classroom bustled with energy and enthusiasm as all my pupils engaged with each other during the exercise. One of my favorite moments was when a shy student, after some encouragement from me, agreed to read out his piece to the classroom. When he began, it was a barrage of half-convincing words. Soon, I realised he was reading the wrong piece!

I pointed this out to him, and we laughed for a bit, his nerves melting away. I patted him on the back and as he began reading out the right piece, his back straightened and shoulders squared. I found this boy relating to the Biography of the day — The Biography of Human Flight. After the exercise, I presented the Biography of Human Flight to them. It was a story of freedom, of shedding your inner fears, and bringing out the best in yourself. It was our pursuit of understanding the laws of nature and using them to our advantage that allowed us to take flight.

After the presentation we became a part of the Biography of Human Flight by launching Bottle Rockets into the air. This was a profound experience that I had a chance to experience, not just as a teacher and guide, but also as someone who cherishes novel experiences.

I am really proud of my children from the class. Their stories are inspiring and through my workshops, I will bring them out every month.

We, at Slam Out Loud, dedicate innumerable hours and tremendous resources into building this community and would love for you to get involved or contribute to our vision- if you would.

We’re always grateful for your support in our journey.

--

--

Slam Out Loud

We are a for mission, not-for-profit based out of New Delhi with the vision that ‘Every individual will have a voice that empowers them to change lives’.