My 3-Step Magic Routine for Boosting Creativity In Writing

Make creativity a part of your daily routine

Ani Vals
5 min readAug 16, 2023

Non-members can read the story HERE.

I am probably not the only one who dreams of taking a notebook in hand, going somewhere in nature, and starting to write, inspired by her surroundings.

However, everyday life is usually different and much more hectic and we need to be flexible so we can keep up with all the tasks. The desire to write, no matter what, doesn’t decrease; on the contrary, it increases, no matter how difficult it is for us to organize ourselves.

Being a mother with a toddler and a baby, I rarely get the chance to go out alone, so I’ve found my routine to manage to get out the best ideas I’m capable of without depriving my family of my presence. (Not that they wouldn’t love to have me gone sometimes, too, especially when I’m sleep-deprived and grumbling about not being able to find even ten minutes to write.)

So… what my routine consists of is how I manage to write, and write quite well. The only thing you need to have is a smartphone with internet. Nowadays it’s almost impossible to get anything done if you don’t have a phone with internet. And since it’s the item I don’t go anywhere without, that makes it very suitable to use when writing as well.

I’m going to share 3 great apps to help you get set up to write, and the whole process will take you no more than 30–40 minutes.

Brain Waves

I go out with bluetooth headphones in my ears — one of the most useful gadgets for moms with strollers. I play the Brain Waves app in the background of my playlist of favourite songs and head off to another day full of tasks.

What is Brain Waves?

This is an app that lets you listen to binaural beats.

Binaural beats are a perception of sound created by your brain. If you listen to two tones, each at a different frequency and each in a different ear, your brain creates an additional tone you can hear. This third tone is called a binaural beat. You hear it at the frequency difference between the two tones.

I play the creativity mode, which includes alpha (α) pattern. It ranges between 8 Hz and 13 Hz. Alpha waves indicate a relaxed and restful mind. Research shows that binaural beat stimulation in the alpha range can increase creativity in some listeners.

There are also other modes like visualization, focus, work, concentrate, healing, sleep, deep sleep, perception, cognitive tasks, infraLow, meditation and relax. I admit that I still haven’t tried the other ones, since as a mother I can fall asleep very easily. :D But I’m sure all these will have an effect as the creativity mode. It simply works. I start having great ideas while I’m listening to it with or without music background.

While I’m playing Brain Waves application usually I’m doing some shopping and just try to think about topics I want to write about. After that I go to the park with the baby. I open the second app.

HaikuJam

This is a great app that lets you write haiku with people from all over the world. You can join groups, read haiku by other writers and have fun. You can also write an entire haiku by yourself if you’re in the mood. There is a blank screen in front of you or one with words already written that you need to continue. You have a set number of words to write on each line. This is a great app because you are always reading something unexpected and you are required to make a logical connection as well as try to write something original. Give it a try and you won’t regret it.

After writing a few haiku verses with Brain Waves in background, I’m ready for something more serious as a challenge for my creative mind. Time is ticking while the baby sleeps in the stroller, and I keep writing as often as possible. I open the third app on my phone.

Writing Prompts

This is an app that includes 50,000 creative writing prompts compiled into ebooks. Definitely an impressive number! Surely you’ll find an idea to provoke you to write. I usually turn on the chronometer on my smartwatch (another very useful gadget for mums!) to count down 10 minutes and start frantically writing. Believe me, you can write a lot in just ten minutes once you’ve “hacked” your brain the way I do.

Once I’m done with this magical 3-step routine, I can write about whatever I decide. Well, as long as the baby is still sleeping or at least in a good mood to let me. And all this only with my phone.

You can always write as long as you have the wish. If you’re in a writer’s block, try these tips and you’ll see there will be a positive change. I’d love it if you’d share in a comment your tricks that help you write better. Maybe there are other magic apps.

And you may have guessed how I wrote this article, and in only about 20 minutes.

Photo by Firmbee.com on Unsplash

In the article, I’ve used information about brainwaves from:

If you want to receive an email each time I post on my profile, you can follow me and subscribe here. 📩 ✍️

If you like to support me on my writing journey, you can buy me a coffee.☕️ I’d really appreciate it! ❤️️🙏

--

--

Ani Vals

English teacher| writer| poet| passionate about creative writing, books, travelling, art, relationships, parenting, psychology and expressing personal insights.