Georgia Kriss

Minicomic.club 2017 Season

Minicomic.club
4 min readJan 7, 2017

Do you keep a sketchbook? What do you fill it up with?

Yup. Every year I try and fill up one big sketch book that is filled with random sketches of animals (dogs and dragons especially), character ideas, life drawing sessions as well as “GO GET THIS SHIT DONE” lists from time to time.

Tell me about your favourite pen?

COPIC MARKERS AND STAEDTLER FINE LINERS. They are the bees knees. Oh also my cintiq pen. It too is pretty great.

What’s deader — Print or Mail?

Probably mail? Which is a bit sad because I used to really love getting mail, though I can’t remember the last time the mail brought me any joy. Now it usually just tells me to pay for things I don’t want to pay for. So maybe I’m cool with it dying. But not until after my minicomic of the month month. Yeah, then it’s fine.

What’s a good comic you’ve read recently?

Tank Girl

I just re-read all the Jamie Hewlett and Alan Martin Tank Girl comics in my Hole of Tank Girl Collection for probably the 8th time. My favourite in the collection is Summer Love Sensation. Hewlett’s illustrations are amazing and the story is nice and messed up as usual.

I’ve also recently been getting into Christian Robles stuff online. He does the most beautiful illustrations and a bundle of cute little comics that I love, though sometimes I have to google translate them from Spanish. Totally worth it though. Check them out http://kensausage.tumblr.com/

Christian Robles

You studied animation right — is that your main thing? What’s the Australian animation scene like?

I certainly did, I studied animation at RMIT in Melbourne with a bundle of incredibly talented people. Yes, it’s my main creative outlet as well as what’s feeding me at the moment. The Australian animation scene is obviously not as big as it is in the U.S.A, Japan or France especially in the 2D field but a lot more interest in the medium is being shown. There’s a really good group of talented artists going about as well as various animation events such as http://www.loopdeloop.org/ that make meeting people in the industry easy and super enjoyable.

Your CV lists Rockclimbing as an interest, how hardcore are you — do you have sick finger muscles?

Ha I need to update that CV. I used to do a lot of indoor and outdoor climbing, though due to my lack of free time I haven’t been able to go as much as I would like. So sadly my once admirable, pen crushing, finger strength has decreased. But I still rollerblade a bunch so really I’ve just traded finger strength for thigh power.

You can see more of Georgia’s drawings and animation work at http://krisstofferson.tumblr.com/ or https://vimeo.com/georgiakriss

The Minicomic of the Month Club is an annual subscription series of Australian and New Zealand Cartoonists. Subscriptions are open for the 2017 season, you should go ahead and subscribe at minicomic.club/2017.

--

--

Minicomic.club

Beautiful comics in your mailbox in 2018. What could be nicer than that? https://minicomic.club/2018