Learning To Code By Writing Code Poems

Learning to code can be tough. In this article, Murat shares his advice on how writing code differently and poetically has helped him overcome his initial struggles and insecurities.

Smashing Magazine
11 min readApr 2, 2019
Photo: Clément H

By Murat Kemaldar

Back in 2008, I started studying design and clearly remember how the sheer sight of code just intimidated me. I had some coding classes, and without any prior coding experience, I had a tough time understanding the code I first got in touch with. Suddenly, the words that I was used to in the English language (such as “new,” “return” and “throw/catch”) took on a whole new meaning; the cryptic syntax, semicolons, brackets and completely new rules didn’t make things any easier for me.

If you are new to JavaScript and/or have struggles adding it to your skillset, I may have an approach for you to overcome those barriers. You are definitely not alone, and you have every right to think that learning to code is a tough nut to crack.

Why Is Learning To Code So Tough?

Here are some of the misconceptions about why I think people are having a hard time learning or getting interested in JavaScript (or any coding language):

--

--

Smashing Magazine

Founded in September 2006, Smashing Magazine delivers useful and innovative information to web designers and developers.