Ownership — The Hot Potato

Suzanne Middlehurst
3 min readAug 2, 2022

--

I am a problem-solver. It is both a strength and a weakness.
It is becoming more and more apparent that in some situations I should be delegating the task of solutionising, but why is no one else claiming ownership?

Once you have the reputation of being a problem-solver everyone comes to you with problems. This means your plate gets filled up with finding solutions, even when they aren’t your responsibility. You can find yourself stuck with temporary ownership and before you know it hours or days of your precious time have been used up.

Just break the cycle?
This is easier said than done. I have reflected on why I don’t push back more often, and have landed on five core reasons;

  1. Less experienced or more junior colleagues are eager to learn and need support. It might be a situation or problem they haven’t tackled before and it would be unfair to leave them to flounder.
  2. The task of finding a solution gets directed to a specific person who provides an excuse on why they cannot contribute, then another, then another. The hot potato needs somewhere to land it simply cannot be ignored without consequence.
  3. I actually care about the potential impact of an unresolved issue (and pretty sure my company does to). What if it leads to wastage (time or money), losing a client (revenue), damages a relationship (reputation)
  4. No set roles and responsibilities at the level of detail needed or for potentially unique or specific situations making those people who are accountable the default resolver.
  5. Flat team structures create a culture of delegation more fluid rather than an established and clear chain of command where electing task ownership is expected and managers can bestow responsibilities and ownership.

Taking Action
Following that reflection, I am turning to those very problem-solving skills to assess how I can self-coach breaking down some of these barriers. The tools and tactics I am starting to turn to are a mix of actions and personal mind-set shifting.

  1. Inexperienced team members: My approach to problem-solving here is to go into mentor mode. Rather than spoonfeeding the answers; I will provide options, ask thought-provoking questions and point them in the right direction to seek solutions of their own.
  2. Hot Potato: Speak directly with the team member who’s role fits closest to the task in hand, give clarity of expectation and ownership and direct them to where they might find the most appropriate support within their discipline.
  3. Care about impact: Where I am not accountable I am trying to care a little less but I could surface my concerns to the person who is accountable for them to proceed as they see fit. I, unfortunately, can’t get everyone to care and have a brilliant work ethic, but on those occasions where I am accountable for the impact, I can surface consequences in a more direct way and in terms that may resonate with them more personally.
  4. Set roles and responsibilities: Ensure these are set and regularly discussed between team members. I feel it is important that they are also documented for future reference. You can’t capture everything but hopefully where themes emerge responsibility might start to become automatic.
  5. Flat team structures: Unsure if some of this might be my own perception. Do I have permission to delegate? Does the team expect this anyway? It is definitely one for me to reflect on further especially as I am at a senior level and ultimately accountable in some of these scenarios. What are the teams expectations? and what is the business POV?

I would really welcome an understanding of anyone else experiencing the ‘ownership hot potato’ in their organisations and what mitigating tactics you have tried that I might be able to learn from.

--

--

Suzanne Middlehurst

Client Services Leader in Technology, Innovation and Comms. Skilled at adding pro-active value to all relationships and passionate about effective leadership