#100 Days of Code_Day 1/100

Aaron Smith
2 min readJul 17, 2018

--

So my first and only post was about how I was going to start my journey back into coding…Since that post I’ve had on and off days. Some of the on days were very productive, some were just so-so. Since it seems that my mind works better if I have some sort of deadline I have decided to embark on the #100DaysOfCode challenge. I plan on continuing to utilize my Udemy courses but also throw in the www.freecodecamp.com tutorials.

I found out the hard way that one should try to determine what version of the programming language is being used in the course they are taking, especially if it is a free course. I have found that it’s entirely too easy to get a few weeks into a course only to realize that it’s far outdated, and the recommended frameworks, languages, and even some of the syntax rules are no longer accepted, common, or used.

I’ve also listened to quite a few podcast and youtube personalities talk about the dedication that one needs to have towards programming if they wish to succeed and make a career out of it and many of them state that “if you have a hobby, give up on it”. This, of course, is not a direct quote, but a summation of the many opinions that are out there. I may not be too far into the dredges of programming at the moment, but I cannot fathom giving up gaming, or reading. I can understand that these impact the amount of free time one has to live their life, but I have always looked at my profession (whether or not it provides me with financial gain or enjoyment) as a means to better my life as I choose to live it. If I can’t take some time off from learning to program, or programming in general to play video games, take my dog to the park, go watch a movie with my wife, then I might as well go right back into retail management. Without these moment of enjoyment there isn’t much of point in learning, the learning is a path to a career that I will enjoy that will allow me to do even more of these “free time” activities.

By no means does this entail that I will not be putting forth all of my effort into learning how to code, documenting that journey, and subsequently finding a career for it. It just means that I will work my hardest through all of this, and have fun while doing it.

Music to start the journey.

--

--