Are Creative Jobs Dying?

Sheila Weyer
2 min readJan 3, 2023

--

Why I Don’t Think Writers Should Panic about AI

I work for a creative agency. Every day, I’m surrounded by talented illustrators, designers, and creators. Recently, I’ve been seeing more and more claims about how jobs like ours are dying due to the rise of Artificial Intelligence (AI).

I’ve seen plenty of doomsday articles about how AI is posing a threat to creative jobs like copywriting and design. Many people are even warning that now is the time to leave the field. That sent me panicking, especially since I just got into this industry.

It’s true that AI can now generate well-constructed written pieces and even compelling images. In some cases, the results prove to be comparable to human-created pieces. And of course the advantage is that it can do so while saving a significant amount of time and money.

There’s already endless content out there created by AI, and often we don’t even realize it. From blogs to advertising copy to illustrations, many businesses are opting to use AI-based services for content creation. And it’s working.

So yes, AI-generated content is certainly on the rise, and businesses may start opting to use these services more increasingly. But in my opinion, these services can only go so far.

Many people have said that these tools are most helpful once you already have a concept. In other words, AI is most successful in the actual execution of a project. Concepting is perhaps the most important part of our job, and AI will never be able to fully replace a human’s unique thought process and imagination.

One of my favorite things about working in a creative field is that so much of it is subjective. Everybody thinks differently and everybody has their own strengths. So while I’m sure many businesses will continue benefiting from AI services for content creation, I don’t think this means that we creatives need to panic.

If anything, I think the lesson learned is that we can all benefit from these tools. We can use them as a way to jumpstart our own creativity. I am planning on enrolling in a free trial of one of the copywriting services (e.g. Jasper or Rytr) or even tinkering around with ChatGPT. My hope is that doing so will improve my own practice.

This could be an exciting future for content creation. If we can enhance our own creative ideas with AI’s speed, we could become unstoppable.

--

--