I Journaled Everyday for 90 Days- Here’s What I Learned

If you don’t enjoy journaling, you’re probably doing it wrong. Or you’re following a pattern that does not bring you joy.

Smriddhi
5 min readJul 26, 2023
Photo by Daniel Christie on Unsplash

Journaling is liberating, provided you’re doing it right. And the ‘right way’ to journal is different for everyone. I journaled everyday for 90 days and here are some things I learned that work for me.

Journaling has a bunch of benefits. It improves your mental and physical health and makes you more self-aware.

As someone who has struggled with mental health issues, I’ve been suggested journaling. I tried it a while back but couldn’t stick to it.

During these 90 days, I discovered the reason for this.

When I first started journaling, I’d simply write about what I did during the day without talking about how I felt. It was monotonous and felt like a terribly boring chore. And that was my biggest mistake- following a pattern.

So how did I break this pattern and journal for 90 days straight?

One day, I was feeling extremely overwhelmed. A lot was going on in my head. I randomly opened a book and started writing- just to organize my thoughts.

But that random brain dump turned out to be pages long. And when I was done writing, it felt as if a weight had been lifted off my chest. That’s when I really got into journaling.

I took it one day at a time, and each day, it got easier to get into the flow.

Here are 7 things I learned that might help you too. Let’s get into it.

Can’t think of anything to write?

What you can do when you can’t think of what to write or how to get started is- brain dump. Simply, it means you’re dumping everything going on in your mind on a blank page.

Staring at a blank paper can be daunting but a brain dump makes it slightly easier. It gets the words flowing.

Write down everything going on in your mind. Your feelings, emotions, opinions, judgements, problems, desires, ideas, experiences.

Write about the good, the bad, and the in-betweens.

Write about the things you’ve been carrying with you for way too long. Things that keep popping up.

Journal prompts help a lot and Pinterest is a goldmine of great prompts.

Another simple thing you can do-

Pick up a book, any book.

Read a paragraph.

Write what you feel after reading it; and what was going on in your mind while reading it.

And if you were distracted, jot down the thoughts that kept popping up.

I came across a great book for this- ‘101 Essays to Change the way you think’ by Brianna Wiest.

Be Raw and Honest

Often, there are things you won’t want to admit. Even to yourself.

Or you won’t want to pen some things down because that would make it seem ‘real.’

But journaling is only effective when you’re honest about what you’re feeling, even if it’s uncomfortable.

No one is going to read your journal. Or judge you for what you write in it. Make it your space.

I don’t journal to “be productive.” I don’t do it to find great ideas, or to put down prose I can later publish. The pages aren’t intended for anyone but me.

- Tim Ferris

Once you make your journal your space and your time is not rushed, getting into a habit will get easier. It will become a part of your daily flow, like brushing your teeth.

Forget about being eloquent.

Don’t worry about grammar or spelling or being eloquent. Let go of that pressure.

It’s not a graded essay.

It’s not an assignment you have to submit.

And you sure won’t be judged for it.

Bonus tip: Write in multiple languages. Especially if you’re bilingual. It might be easier for you to express things in a different language or using a combination of two languages.

Practice gratitude

If you can’t think of anything to write or you don’t feel like writing on a particular day, practice gratitude.

In fact, even if you do have things to write, you should practice gratitude.

Write 10 things you’re grateful for. Or 5 to start with.

Notice patterns

Observe what you enjoy while journaling, when you like doing it the most, and how you go about it.

I love journaling at night. It’s peaceful. Everyone is in bed. And that’s one time when I don’t feel like I’m supposed to be doing something else.

Notice patterns even in your writing. Things that keep popping up, emotions and situations you frequently struggle with. Ponder upon those. It helps you reflect and become self-aware.

Make your Journal Messy

Your journal isn’t supposed to be neat. You don’t have to write complete pages if you don’t want to. Or even in complete sentences.

Make your journal messy. Write. Draw. Doodle. Scribble. Paint. Make patterns. Express yourself in whatever way you want.

You don’t need fancy tools.

When you google how to journal, a lot of people would ask you to get a bullet journal, brush pens, etc. And while those things are probably helpful and make journaling more fun (I’m yet to try bullet journaling), it’s okay if you don’t.

The best part about journaling is that there are no rules. You can do it however you want to. Be creative while expressing yourself.

All you really need is a pen and an empty notebook.

But you can spice it up with good quality notebooks (Moleskine or Leuchtturm notebook), Tombow brush pens, or vintage fountain pens.

I use an A5 white unruled notebook made of recycled paper (I love its texture) and a pen. Sometimes when I feel like drawing or painting, I’ll use pencils, paints, charcoal, calligraphy pen, or brush pens, depending on my mood (yes I make a lot of art).

Journaling is liberating. It helps you unpack things, and observe situations objectively. It gives you the space to reflect, think, and feel. And most importantly, journaling helps you slow down.

--

--

Smriddhi

Exploring my curiosity | Reader, writer, artist, traveler