A Quick Guide for Basics Of SDLC

SDLC is the short form for software development life cycle. It is a standard process adopted by the IT industry to design, develop and test software applications. The main motto of SDLC is delivery of high quality softwares to clients or customers. It also ensures that deadlines are followed and the customer requirements are met properly. In short, meeting of the time and cost estimates.

Key Things Related to SDLC:

It is also termed as software development process.

Acronym of software development life cycle.

The SDLC is a structure defining tasks performed at every progression in the software development process.

ISO/IEC 12207 is a global standard for software life-cycle processes. It means to be the standard that characterizes all the tasks required for developing and maintaining the softwares.

There are a number of SDLC or software development models which are used in the IT industry. They are as follows:

Waterfall model

Spiral model

Iterative model

Big Bang model


Let us see some of these in detail.

Waterfall Model:

This model basically moves forward from one phase to the other. After one phase is over, it moves to the next one. The various phases in sequence in this model are as follows:

1. Requirement Analysis Phase:

In this phase, all the requirements are gathered and analyzed. These requirements come from the customers. The requirements are mentioned in a SRS (System Requirement Specification) document.

2. Design:

The requirements from first stage are studied in this stage and the design outline is readied. System design helps in determining hardware and system prerequisites furthermore helps in characterizing general system architecture.

3. Implementation:

With inputs from the system design stage, the system is initially created in little programs called units, which are incorporated in the following stage. Every unit is developed and tested for its functionality which is alluded to as Unit Testing.

4. System Integration and Testing:

Every one of the units or modules developed in the previous stage of implementation are incorporated into a system subsequent to testing of every unit. Post combination or integration, the whole system is tried for any defects and errors.

5. System Deployment:

After the functional and non functional testing is done, the product is set in the client environment or released for business.

6. Maintenance:

There are some issues which come up in the customer environment. To tackle those problems patches are released. Additionally to upgrade the product, some better versions are released. Support is done to deliver these enhancements in the client environment.

The Big Bang Model:The Big Bang model is SDLC model where there is no particular procedure followed. The development just begins with the required monetary investment and endeavors as the resources, and the yield is the software created which might possibly be according to client requirements.

Big Bang Model is SDLC model where there is no official process undertaken after and almost no planning is needed. Indeed, even the client is not certain about what precisely he needs and the necessities are actualized on the random without much investigation.

Generally this model is used for small scale projects where the developer teams are small.

V Model:

The V — model is SDLC model where execution of procedures happens in a consecutive manner in V-manner. It is otherwise called the Verification and Validation model.

V — Model is an augmentation of the waterfall model and depends on relationship of a testing stage for each comparable development stage. This implies for each and every stage in the development cycle, there is a straightforwardly related testing phase. This is an exceedingly disciplined model and next stage begins simply after finishing of the past stage.

This was about SDLC and its various models.

More Related Video:

Software Testing- Quality Control And Quality Assurance

This article would be helpful for student Software Testing reviews.