Coding through Depression: How to Overcome Sadness and Rejuvenate Through Code

Coding through Depression: How to Overcome Sadness and Rejuvenate Through Code

Snicer
3 min readNov 19, 2023
Coding through Depression: How to Overcome Sadness and Rejuvenate Through Code

Depression sucks, and it’s something we all struggle with at some point in our lives. If you’re a programmer like me, you’ve probably experienced more than your fair share of deep sorrows. I know I have.

I was in a pretty dark place a few years ago. I was 40 years old and the stress of juggling my job and family life seemed to consume me. Despite my attempts to stay fit and practice mindfulness, depression still seemed to have a strong hold on my emotions.

Then I discovered something that changed my life: programming. That’s right, coding through depression. Now, I know that sounds a bit crazy, but hear me out. Programming has become my way to combat sadness and rejuvenate my spirit.

First of all, programming is a great way to stay in shape. It’s like a form of meditation. When I’m coding, I’m completely focused on the task at hand and completely within the moment. That helps me to stay away from the negative thoughts that can lead to depression. Plus, it’s a great excuse to get away from the computer and stretch my legs as I move around the house to work on different projects.

Second, programming gives me the flexibility to keep learning. Coding is challenging, and with each new challenge comes a sense of accomplishment and excitement. This is especially helpful when I’m feeling down, as it reminds me that I’m capable of pushing myself to learn and adapt.

Finally, programming helps me to stay productive and creative. Writing code may not seem like an exciting activity, but it can be really rewarding. When I’m coding, I can let go of any worries and frustrations and sink into my work, creating something from nothing.

All of that said, coding through depression isn’t a one-size-fits-all solution. Everyone’s experience with depression is different, so what works for me might not work for you. But if you’re looking for a way to fight the blues, why not give coding a try?

Of course, it’s important to remember that programming alone isn’t enough. It’s just one part of a bigger picture. Exercise, healthy eating, and mindfulness are all important tools for managing depression. But with programming, you get the added benefit of creativity and a sense of accomplishment when you complete a project.

For me, coding through depression has been a life-altering experience. Not only has it helped me to cope with my depression, but it’s also opened my eyes to a world of possibilities I never knew existed. From building my own website to creating an app for my business, coding has given me a renewed sense of purpose.

My advice to those struggling with depression is to try coding. It won’t be easy, but it can be incredibly rewarding. There’s no magic cure for depression, but if you’re looking for a new way to manage your sadness, coding might just be the answer.

To make things a bit more fun, here’s a funny story from my own experience. A few years ago, I was feeling particularly low and decided to take a break from coding. But as soon as I stepped away from the keyboard, my body started to itch and my brain began to return to its thinking mode. I tried my best to ignore it, but it just kept getting worse until I finally gave in and sat back down at the computer. That’s when I knew I had to start coding through depression.

So, if you’re a 40-something programmer out there and you’re feeling down, give coding a try. You never know what hidden gems lie within your own mind until you take the time to explore them.

Fight the sadness, explore the possibilities, and start coding through depression today!

--

--

Snicer

Hi, Im a 40-year-old programmer who has overcome a battle with depression by embracing mindfulness, maintaining a habits journal, and staying active at the gym.