Как получить на Coursera доступ к полному курсу и сертификату бесплатно

LiveAndWorkInGermany
4 min readJan 12, 2019

--

На данный момент большая часть курсов на coursera.org стоит 43€. На мой взгляд, это вполне подъемная сумма. Но для тех, кто не может или не хочет платить, рассказываю, как можно получить полный доступ ко многим курсам бесплатно. Для этого нужно запросить финансовую помощь (Financial aid). Скажу сразу, что этот способ не работает на Degrees-специализациях и на профессиональной сертификации (Professional Certificate).

Открываем курс и справа от кнопки «Enroll» нажимаем на ссылку «Financial aid available»

Если ссылки нет, то ищем её внизу страницы, в разделе «Start Learning Today» или «Start Today with a 7-Day Free Trial»

Дальше идем по шагам до раздела «Background Information».

Вся сложность именно в разделе «Background Information». Нужно заполнить информацию о себе и о своём финансовом положении на английском языке. В поле «Why are you applying for Financial Aid» нужно написать 150 слов на тему, почему вам нужна финансовая помощь.

Подойдет текст следующего содержания:

Hello, my name is Sergey. I’m forced to apply to you for a financial support. I require to pass a course named “Data Structures”. I’m 35 years old. I’m married and have 3 young children. My children are 2, 5 and 8 years old. At the moment, I have been working in low-paying jobs for more than six months. My wife is unemployed. At the moment, I cannot get a new job. I live in a small Russian town. Open vacancies in the town are not enough. Though I receive a monthly salary, its size is insufficient for my family to afford a course. Money that we get is enough only for essentials and food. But I need new job to afford more. To find a new job I need to change my specialization. I am confident that the new work will open up new perspectives for me and my family. All necessary documents confirming my financial standing will be immediately presented up on your request.

В поле «How will taking this course help you achieve your career goals» нужно написать 150 слов на тему, как этот курс поможет вам достичь карьерных целей.

Текст:

More than 15 years ago I received a master’s degree in IT (Computer Science). Therefore, my theoretical knowledge is outdated requires an update. I have basic knowledge in the database support and System administration. I have over ten years of experience in the IT sphere. I know programming languages at an elementary level but this is not enough. My specialization - technical user support. At the moment I cannot get a new job. I live in a small town. Open vacancies in the town are not enough. I want to take a computer science course “Algorithms on Graphs” from the University of California San Diego, National Research University Higher School of Economics. I believe that the course “Algorithms on Graphs”, will help me to increase my knowledge and will provide me with new job opportunities. Also I intend to pass all the courses from the “Data Structures and Algorithms Specialization”. I’m confident I have enough time to attend the course. I have a strong desire to pass the entire course.

И если вы не хотите брать кредит для оплаты этого курса, то на вопрос «Would you consider a low-interest loan to pay for your courses?» отвечаем «No». А в поле «If you answered no, please help us understand why», нужно написать причину.

Текст:

I work and get a small salary every month, but the size of my finances is not enough for my family to pay a loan.

И отправляем запрос

Можете взять эти тексты за основу. Замените в них названия курсов и специализаций на нужные вам, опишите свою ситуацию и отправьте. Сайт возьмёт паузу - 2 недели, а потом пришлёт приглашение. По моей информации подтверждение приходит автоматически, без фактической проверки того, что написано.

Мой канал в телеграме @LiveAndWorkInGermany о жизни и работе в Германии с семьёй. Рассказываю о том, как я стал программистом в 40 лет и о том, как найти работу в другой стране. Коротко и по делу.

UPD 21.09.2022: До сих пор этот метод работает.

--

--

LiveAndWorkInGermany

Я автор канала https://t.me/LiveAndWorkInGermany о жизни и работе в Германии с семьёй, о том, как я стал программистом в 40 лет и о том, как найти там работу.