Everything you want to know about the Cloud and AWS

Nitin Kishore
10 min readFeb 10, 2018

If you are anything like me , then the word cloud has eluded you for a long time even though it is ubiquitous. The moment you hear “cloud”, your imagination starts running wild and you convince yourself that it is some mysterious advancement of technology that is beyond your scope for now and that you’ll get to it someday. You’re not alone. I once mustered the courage to look ignorant in this age of information and asked some people what cloud meant. The only things that came to their mind were Dropbox and Google Drive. Is that it? Online storage? That made no sense.Where is all that information? Is it a series of 1s and 0s floating around in the sky all around us?

I only had disappointing answers and wasted quite a bit of time looking for a good course . It wasn’t until I came across this book — “Explain the Cloud Like I’m 10 ” by Todd Hoff, that everything started to make sense and I saw cloud for what it is.

What is the Cloud?

Cloud

Empty your cups, because contrary to your expectations , the cloud is actually a tangible building commonly referred to as a Data Center. It is a real physical place that exists in this realm.

Imagine a thumb drive the size of your arm containing computers built specifically to fit into a metal frame. Line few of them beside each other and it…

--

--

Nitin Kishore

Staff Data Scientist 💻. I write weekly to either clear my mind or as part of active learning | UMass Amherst CS Grad | BITSian | Deep Learning |