Walkthrough Story: Hydropuzzle

sobstel
2 min readNov 21, 2018

--

This is a true story. The events depicted here took place last summer. Some names and identifying details have been changed to protect the privacy of individuals.

Boiling heat was flowing down from the sky. It was unbearably hot even in front of the desk in an air-conditioned office. My nostrils cried silently. The omnipresent scent of sweat was killing me. One thing for sure, I definitely didn’t feel like working. Did I mention it was really hot?

Unconsciously, I opened a company global chat channel. The Monday mood dominated. “No water in my apartment”, “Very low water pressure here today too”, “I heard that a half of the city is cut off now.” It looked like a whole city was mysteriously running out of water. Someone even demanded an intervention from iMan. Well, iMan. If they only knew.

Trying to allocate more time to waste, I opened my mailbox (for thirty-second time today to be precise). Of all the urgent, very urgent and very very urgent messages from all the managers who feel their project is always most important, one looked particularly interesting. From: Professor. Professor? No professor works here!

The message was a bit messed up… or maybe it wasn’t. No, it wasn’t. It was in some sort of code. It wasn’t hard though. Professor wasn’t too smart I guess. Or maybe he just thought I wasn’t smart enough for a bigger challenge? Never mind.

The respective signs needed to be replaced with actual letters. Each sign could be decoded into one and only one specific letter.

I know who you really are. People think you’re a geek addicted to Internet and your smartphone.

No shit.

But they have no idea that this is just iMan’s secret identity.

What? How come? Now it’s scary. I thought nobody knew.

Only you and your superpowers can help! Please click on attachment. The password is qwerty.

Downloaded an attachment and typed the password. The password was very strong I must admit, just like probably 99% of passwords used by people out there.

Wait. Installing spyware? My location shared? What the heck. Somehow, I felt like nothing good could come out of this…

TO BE CONTINUED

PS. You can solve the mystery on your own. Get Hydropuzzle on the App Store or the Google Play.

PS2. Actual walkthrough can be found at official website.

--

--