An Unexpected Outlier

Matt Jones
2 min readAug 23, 2019

--

Following on from the beginning of this story when Mirae the barmaid was watching with fascination as I set about reading Jed Emerson’s “The Purpose of Capital” while in Pyongyang, North Korea.

I returned to the beginning of the book. I was interested to know what a different context might make to the reading. Had I missed anything, or was I likely to see things differently with fresh eyes because of a new experience having recently entered North Korea?

How much do we take for granted? More than I realised, it would seem.

Our assumptions about North Korea deny a consideration of the humanity of people who live within that country. These posts are not an apologetic for North Korea or in any way pleading to change arrangements relating to sanctions. There are very real issues to resolve relating to security and what might be euphemistically be described as governance issues. Let’s be clear that it is from this position we begin as a start point.

For all of the challenges aside, I looked up at Mirae as she tried to make sense of what I was doing. How might the subject of capital have relevance to her and the community in which she lives. I was already making assumptions, that she works to earn money, and that there is some means of spending and perhaps saving that money. Beyond that, I didn’t know much about her life.

I thought about the possibility of changing prospects for Mirae were a breakthrough to be achieved, and how by and large this would be realised through the exchange of capital. It was a very real thing.

Jed’s opening sentence set me back to reflect and contemplate this with a sip from the Dae Dong Gang beer which I had poured in front of me.

The opening sentence of The Purpose of Capital reads as follows:

“Most human societies are now dominated by financial capitalism — the global system by which capital is defined, created, valued, and exchanged. Is this what we wanted?”

North Korea would not describe itself as modelling capitalism. Even so, there is a system by which capital is defined, created, valued, and exchanged.

Was this an exception to the rule? An outlier which sat outside of the purpose of capital?

It deserved more consideration as I watched the condensation slowly form into droplets of the outside of the glass of beer.

You can download your own copy of Jed Emerson’s The Purpose of Capital for free here: https://www.purposeofcapital.org/the-purpose-of-capital

Feel free to read along and compare notes as I review the book through these pages. I’d be interested in your thoughts too. Welcome to the inaugural gathering of the Pyongyang Book Club!

--

--