14 questions with Grace Mosier, unified early childhood education major

--

Grace Mosier was looking for a path that would lead her into a helping profession.

As a unified early childhood major in KU’s School of Education and Human Sciences, she received hands-on training in classroom settings early on, providing a first-hand look at what it takes to be an educator in her field and the impact teachers have on students.

“It’s not just teaching math and reading,” Mosier said. “But meeting their social emotional needs and helping them grow and flourish.”

We caught up with Grace, who shared details about her experiences student teaching, advice for college students and mistakes to avoid, the best study spot on KU campus and more.

“Working with the incredible students in my life is a privilege that I’m thankful for every day!”

How did you decide your major was right for you?

I knew that I wanted to be in a helping profession, and I knew that I wanted to work with kids, but originally was set on not being a teacher. Most of the women in my family were teachers and I wanted to branch out, but within a month of being on campus I was switching to education because I knew it was just what I was meant to do. Working with the incredible students in my life is a privilege that I’m thankful for every day!

What do you think is most valuable about being a student in the School of Education & Human Sciences?

The most valuable thing about being a student in the School of Education and Human Sciences are the hands-on learning opportunities. Starting sophomore year, I was already in classrooms working with students. It allows you to gain real life experience skills in your field early on which was so helpful.

What are you passionate about?

I am passionate about helping people! With my program that is something I get to do every day.

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned as a student in the School of Education & Human Sciences?

The most important lesson I have learned as a student in the School of Education & Human Sciences is how much educators impact the lives of young students and how much of a difference they make each and every day. It’s not just teaching math and reading but meeting their social emotional needs and helping them grow and flourish.

What’s a mistake you made in college that you’d caution others to avoid?

Putting too much on your plate! It’s easy to sign up for a lot of things, make lots of commitments, or take extra hours. Whether it is for your resume or to add another minor, etc., but it’s important to remember to be patient with yourself. We are only human, and you deserve to give yourself time to rest, recharge, and do what you love!

“I am passionate about helping people! With my program that is something I get to do every day.”

What advice would you give to new Jayhawks?

Ask questions! I say this to every freshman I meet or student I have an advising appointment with. The number one best thing I did my freshman year was put myself out of my comfort zone and go to office hours to ask questions and make appointments in the SOEHS office to ask questions. By going to office hours, I was able to build relationships with my professors and they were always willing to help me with whatever I needed! Additionally, because I chose to come in to the SOEHS office and ask questions, I have now worked in the office since my sophomore year!

Give a shout-out to a KU mentor who’s made a difference in your life.

Paula Naughtin! Paula has been my advisor since I was accepted into the Unified Early Childhood program, and she is absolutely incredible. She is so supportive of every single student that walks through her door and is the most organized person I have ever met!

Are you involved with any KU student groups or professional organizations?

I am a part of my sorority, Chi Omega. I have built so many amazing relationships through this organization of women that I am endlessly thankful for! I was previously the recycling chair for my sorority as well. I am also a student ambassador for SOEHS. It is the best on campus job you could ever find. I get to help other people achieve their goals while achieving my own. It is the best feeling when I have a student come in who might be unsure of what they want to do or are struggling with their plans, and you get to help them find the program that is right for them or fix their schedule.

“The most important lesson I have learned as a student in the School of Education & Human Sciences is how much educators impact the lives of young students and how much of a difference they make each and every day.”

Have you completed any internships, study abroad trips, or other learning experiences you’d like to tell us about?

I just finished student teaching in a 3rd grade class at John Fiske Elementary in Kansas City. It was the most amazing student teaching placement I could have asked for. I learned so much from the teacher I worked with, and I already miss the students I worked with terribly!

What do you want to do after you graduate?

Right now, I am deciding between starting teaching next year and applying to grad school here at KU to do School Psychology!

It’s Friday. You’re walking down Jayhawk Blvd. to your last class of the week. What’s on your music playlist?

On my music playlist you could find a wide range, but three top artists would be Harry Styles, Glass Animals, and Fleetwood Mac.

Best study spot on KU campus:

At Potter’s Lake in a hammock!

If you could eat one food on campus for the rest of your academic career, what would it be?

The grain bowl from the dining halls with Thai peanut sauce!

What is the most underrated spot in Lawrence?

The hike in campsites at Woodridge Park on Clinton Lake.

--

--

KU School of Education & Human Sciences

Preparing educators and human science professionals as leaders since 1909.