Logan Bell aims to assist low-income, first-generation students

As a second year master’s student in KU’s Higher Education Administration program, Logan Bell is pursuing his passion for helping lower-income and first-generation college students. In our Q&A, Bell explains how the faculty and curriculum in the Department of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies at the University of Kansas solidified his career aspirations and shares his post-graduation plans.

What are your research interests?

My primary interests are within the fields of sustainability at Higher Education Institutions. Sustainability is a growing challenge and priority for all aspects of our society; HEIs are valuable spaces for sustainable development, retrofitting buildings, and as role models for society.

“Sustainability is a growing challenge and priority for all aspects of our society.”

How did you decide your program was right for you?

Connecting with the current students in the Higher Education Administration was important for me because it gave insight onto the experiences they have within the program. Learning about their assistantships and the curriculum, successes, and the role of the program on their career aspirations allowed me to evaluate if I was a good fit for the program, and the program for me. I could envision myself growing in the program, and that established a sense of belonging that pulled me in.

What do you think is most valuable about being a student in the School of Education & Human Sciences?

The faculty within my program are supportive not only in my curriculum, but also the aspects of career development in preparation for graduation. They provide opportunities to engage with research, develop projects and programs, and assist in career aspirations. We make connections to national organizations like ACPA and NACADA, which are valuable in short and long-term goals. Because of this holistic incorporation within the program, I’ve learned to embrace the overlap of curriculum and career, and that the application of theory-to-practice is more accessible.

What are you passionate about?

I’m incredibly passionate about serving low-income and first-generation students. The program allows me to explore these passions through scholarship. As a first-gen low-income student, reading student theory in my courses related closely to the experiences I’ve had. Establishing a base of theoretical knowledge, I can apply that within my assistantship in academic advising and better support these vulnerable populations.

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned as a student in the School of Education and Human Sciences?

The imperative to cooperatively work together to correct the injustices of our past should be a top priority of student affairs professionals in the future. While we continue to live in an individualistic society, the urgency for compassion rather than comprehension cannot be stressed enough. With a mindset that values and cherishes the experience of marginalized identities, we can begin to understand and deconstruct systems of oppression, but only if we commonly work together to achieve this goal.

“With a mindset that values and cherishes the experience of marginalized identities, we can begin to understand and deconstruct systems of oppression, but only if we commonly work together to achieve this goal.”

What advice would you give to new Jayhawks?

I would tell new Jayhawks to reflect on any interests you have, and see how those interests are situated at KU! There are tons of involvement opportunities that exist outside of the curriculum, things like student clubs and organizations, study abroad, undergraduate research, and more are all opportunities for students to examine their interests at an intimate level and develop the strong skills you’ve already acquired. This, paired with the new challenges that higher education can pose, can be greatly beneficial in allowing you to explore different paths and experiences that you can cultivate yourself. And of course, this can be something you engage with with friends and family, and develop a supportive network during your time at KU.

What changes, developments or discoveries would you like to see occur in your field during your lifetime?

I would like to see a strong shift towards the decentering of dominant identities. Much of the theory developed in higher education began in predominantly white, cisgender, male spaces and widely excluded marginalized identities. While there has been great and important work that centers social identities such as race, gender, and ethnicity, this can also be expanded to include first-generation, veteran status, and non-traditional students in research.

“I would like to see a strong shift towards the decentering of dominant identities.”

Have you completed any internships, study abroad trips, or other learning experiences you’d like to tell us about?

While not in my current program, during my undergraduate years at KU I, with the help of supervisors for the program, created an internship opportunity within the KU Common Book Program that blended my career aspirations in higher education with rhetorical analysis of peer institutions in the region. By conducting my own research and with the assistance of mentors, I was able to identify strengths and opportunities for improvement within KU’s program, including expanding the partnership to Haskell Indian Nations University, and help develop a reader’s guide to accompany the selection of Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer.

What do you want to do after you graduate?

After graduation, I hope to accept a position of academic advising within higher education. My current role allows me to gain experience in the field, attend national conferences, and set my own goals for success. I hope to create dynamic programming opportunities that connect students to valuable resources, and shift the responsibility from individual advocacy to a supportive framework right when a student enters the university that takes into account their individualized experiences and socialization prior to attending our institution. My current curriculum is giving me the knowledge and tools to craft programmatic opportunities to support students in a transitional experience as they enter the institution, and to aid in the development of inclusive and just spaces on campus.

“My current curriculum is giving me the knowledge and tools to craft programmatic opportunities to support students in a transitional experience as they enter the institution, and to aid in the development of inclusive and just spaces on campus.”

What is the most underrated spot in Lawrence?

This may not be so underrated, but spending an early morning at Java Break on Mass Street is my favorite way to start the weekend. Their cinnamon chai lattes are my favorite in Lawrence, and Java Break also has great seating to study with friends or buckle-down to finish editing a paper.

Learn more about KU’s School of Education and Human Sciences and master’s program in higher education administration today.

--

--

KU School of Education & Human Sciences

Preparing educators and human science professionals as leaders since 1909.