Against the Odds I’m Still Here!

Sofia Garcês
2 min readMar 1, 2017

--

It’s been a year since I started my business and billed my first client. (I can’t quite believe this myself!)

Had you asked me a year ago if I’d be doing this full time within a year of starting my business my answer would have probably been: No!

I know that I’m good at what I do but I had never thought I could grow this fast and support myself so soon after starting. There’s still plenty that I don’t know how to do and I learn something new every day but I wanted to share a couple of things I have learned along the way.

What I’ve learned in 1 Year of Building my Business

Consistency is Everything

I had tried to start a business before, many times before (an embarrassing number of times, let’s not talk about that) what made this time different was consistency.

If you want to start a business you need to show up for it every single day. This doesn’t mean you need to sit for an hour at the desk every day, or maybe it does, what it does mean is that if you really want to make this happen you need to do something every day to move the ball forward.

It doesn’t have to be perfect AKA Adjust as you Go

Creating your own business isn’t a perfectly organized process. Actually, it can be messy as hell, but that’s okay!

So when you’re starting your business don’t worry about making it perfect. Make it as good as you can make it right now and keep moving forward, chances are you will change everything in a few months anyway so please do yourself and the world a favor and, as a wise woman once said, “Launch before your ready!”

Not everyone is a right fit for you

If that one lead doesn’t call back, if the one client never renews and if there are just some people that don’t get you that’s okay. Your business isn’t for everyone! It’s for the people who get it and most importantly the people who get you!

As long as you have clients who get you and people who keep coming back for more you’re doing great! Don’t spend too much of your time thinking about the people that don’t get it.

Embrace Growth

Everything is growth and this is all part of the journey.

There will be moments when you need to regroup, and times when you want to shift gears. There will be days of amazing growth and joy and days of pure sadness. This is all part of the journey called life.

Keep living and remember you get to adjust your direction whenever you feel like it. It’s your life after all.

--

--

Sofia Garcês

I help you find clarity and focus in your online marketing so that you know exactly what to do to reach your goals.