How I fixed my lazy eye (amblyopia) as an adult at the age of 25

Jeff Kowalski
4 min readNov 21, 2019

--

I still remember the blurry days of my teenage years, when it was my twelfth birthday and my father surprised me with a gift that was wrapped in a beautiful blue box. He got me a Portable PlayStation (PSP). I was really happy and excited to see that gift because as a young teenage boy I was obsessed with video games. That PSP was such a great gift and I got addicted to playing video games on it. I used to play every day for six to seven hours straight and kept that gadget very close to my eyes, as once you get involved in the video games then you really don’t care what you are doing actually, whether It is good or not and at that age I had no sense at all of what I was doing.

So one day, we all family members were sitting at the Dining Table for lunch and based on my normal routine, I had that PSP in my hands and I was playing while eating. While playing the game, I got a strange feeling and felt discomfort in my left eye. I told my parents but they didn’t pay much attention and rather said that it was just because I was giving too much time playing games on the PSP and that must be the reason why my eye felt wonky.

I felt the discomfort for a couple of minutes and then it vanished like it never happened so I didn’t take it seriously as well. Time passed, and one day my school arranged a free eye examination publicly. I was around fifteen at that time. I was called for a session with the doctor that came to our school and the ophthalmologist told me that my eyes were not working as a team because one of your eye is lazy eye and you’ve passed the age to fix this problem it can only be cured till the age of eight (8) and now I have to deal with this for the rest of my life. I can still hear those words as they destroyed me from inside, it was frightening to even imagine a life dealing with this and with something that is incurable. I got disheartened that this lazy eye problem is incurable and I won’t be able to see clearly again. I lived my life like that for some time but during that tenure, I kept searching on the internet on how to get cured of Amblyopia (Lazy Eye) but unfortunately, did not find anything conclusive.

It was about nine months before I turned 24 and while I was searching for some stuff about curing the lazy eye I found something intriguing. It was an Article, in which they had explained that the Lazy eye is curable for adults and if you do some exercises (which were written in that article), there is a bright chance of curing Amblyopia. So I thoroughly read that article and it lead me to a guide which was named “Lazy Eye No More”. I read that guide and it advised me to perform some specific tricks and exercises daily for some time and it said that those exercises or games will cure Amblyopia to some extent.

It was my only ray of hope so I started doing those exercises on a daily basis and I found a slight improvement in my condition. I did those exercises for consecutively three months and noticed some improvements (like the blurriness got lesser and the wonky eye started getting back to its place). It strengthened my hope so I decided to continue those exercises until I got completely cured. So I started doing exercises regularly and after six (6) months (since I started) my lazy eye got so much better. It did not cure completely but I got my vision restored up to seventy percent. It took me six months to restore my vision up to that incredible percentage and all my life the Opticians kept telling me that this condition was incurable.

I have recently turned 25 and I am glad that my lazy eye has been fixed up to a great extent, and it has led me to the conclusion that if I can get fix my lazy eye at the age of thirty then anyone can get cured. One just needs to properly follow the guidelines and do the exercises as directed and he will notice massive improvements.

--

--