Jokebox: A ChatGPT Joke Generator

Sohum Berry
2 min readJul 30, 2023
Jokebox home page

This joke generator is unlike any other. It can create specific jokes using keywords from the environment around you and produce them in your specified ways.

But first, a little backstory. I am a 15 year old student and, over the summer I decided to create an app. I had a little experience with xcode with a project that didn’t work out a few years ago, but I hadn’t taken up a new project since. Jokes seemed like a great idea because I love making people laugh with something as simple as a few words. So Jokebox was created. I had the idea to make the jokes situational and first thought of doing a complicated searching algorithm through pre-determined jokes. However this approach was beyond my capabilities. So, like so many companies nowadays, I turned to AI. The OpenAI api was simple enough and I just had to focus on making a UI that I liked. So without further delay, here is a quick guide for Jokebox:

Step 1: Input Your Situation

This joke generator was designed to create jokes tailored to the environment of the user. Just input your situation and a relevant joke will be created. Some examples of a good input would be: “I am struggling through my physics homework” or “My dog ate my homework”. The prompts work best with a more detailed input.

Step 2: Select The Type Of Joke

There are several types of jokes that can be generated based on the liking of the user. The options include one liners, dad jokes (my favorite), pickup lines, knock knock jokes, and puns. If chosen, Jokebox will give a relevant joke in the selected form.

Step 3: Generate

Upon clicking the generate button, the program will think for a few seconds then provide the joke. If you want to try a different situation or type of joke, click “New Prompt”.

Offline Usage:

In the event that a connection is not able to be established Jokebox will fall back onto a precoded set of jokes, regardless of what the situation input is.

Check it out here: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/jokebox/id6455461445

--

--

Sohum Berry
0 Followers

Sophomore in highschool. Based in the Bay Area. Plays baseball.