Ben Stiller, Do You Want Us to Drink Soda?

I want to understand your motivation for your Superbowl Ad

J. Isaac Bowman

--

Montclair Film, CC BY 2.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

Wow Ben, you are such a good actor. No one can deny that. You’ve made me laugh so many times. I love your work, man. Pretty much everyone agrees you’re a brilliantly funny guy.

You’ve also won many awards. You’ve got an Emmy, a Director’s Guild, and on and on.

During the 2023 Superbowl you starred in a commercial which ended with you taking a big gulp from a can labeled Pepsi Zero Sugar, reacting with the words “wow, that’s like really good. Or was I just acting? The only way to know is to try it for yourself.”

Even with my limited knowledge I understand what you and the creators of this ad did. As in many slick commercials, the attempt here is to be subtle, humorous, to deflect from the product itself, but to create an interest in that product.

The sales pitch is delivered immersed in and after a bunch of scenes showing you acting. People watching don’t know the ad is about Pepsi until the end.

But let’s be clear here, the intent of the ad is to sell Pepsi.

So I’m just asking what your thoughts are, Ben. I respect and admire you. Millions of people do. My children and grandchildren might not know your work as well as I do…

--

--

J. Isaac Bowman

An author, a long-time runner, a father, a grandfather, a husband, a brother, and a believer in human rights.