The One About Software Engineering Interviewing

Mapping the Process After Years of Learning

Doug Arcuri
The Startup

--

I’ve recently reflected on my experiences as an interviewee in software engineering. As I trace through each interview, I have learned and improved. I’d like to share these learnings with a diagram I’d built from my last search and highlight the significant bits.

Interview process map from personal experience. It will continue to improve over time.

Practice Role-Playing

My most impactful learning is the value of practicing weekly with a friend. What I learned is that interviewing is a muscle. Finding a study buddy helped simulate real interview situations. This practice had a tangible improvement in offers. But even more so is that after securing a new job, we continue to practice once a week for an hour to be sharp at the interview skill, share stories, and continue to build a healthy relationship.

Partnering with Recruiting

I found success in partnering with recruiting as I went through the pipelines. Being courteous, providing feedback, and asking what to expect had better outcomes. Being honest about my position in my search, expectations, and asking informed questions was an advantage.

Optimal Months to Start a Search

--

--

Doug Arcuri
The Startup

New York // Writings that aim to be timeless, explore the human meta, and invoke thought. // Now, toys too. // Also see https://dev.to/solidi