Four [Random] Thoughts

Francisco Solsona
2 min readJan 11, 2018

--

Tourists negotiating a taxi ride in Cusco, Peru; 2017. One of my initial, and poor, attempts at street photography.

Completely inspired by Cesar Salazar’s Five Bullets, gently pushed by my sister MC Capelo, and picking a number between one and ten; I’ll tell you four things every week. They might be fun, useful, boring, or interesting; you be the judge.

So, without further ado, here are the first four:

  1. I’ve been using project management tools for a long time, and while I wouldn’t recommend any as a silver bullet or a must use for PM, using Asana to track your repetitive, or frequent activities, events or editorial content is easy, and fun.
  2. In 2018 I’ll try to return to podcasts, I miss them, and back in the day I was a huge fan of SGU and other skeptics podcasts. I already subscribe to a few and trying to find spaces in my day to listen to them… But what I really wanted to share with you, is that switching from podcasts to audio books made my life so much better: it made running fun! Helped me lost a few lbs, and be able to exercise while traveling. According to Audible, I’m a master (listener, I guess :) and have listened for 2 months and some hours to 140+ books in the past few years! And much of that listening happened while running on a treadmill at the office or some hotel, or on a random street somewhere.
  3. I’ve always said that I’m a creature of habits, some of my friends might even think that I am disciplined, and, turns out that you just need to be disciplined for a short period of time, until the thing becomes a habit. Read* The One Thing, which is probably my favorite self-help book (I have several favorites), and makes a very compelling case in favor of habits and the power of focusing on the most important thing, the One Thing.
  4. Speaking of habits, I’ve been trying to improve my photography the same way I learn stuff these days… By practicing, reading books, blogs, and watching YouTube. If you, like me, want to improve your photography find one amazing photographer, and study her or his pictures; then find what you love about them, and you’ll start noticing what’s missing from your own. I’m currently looking at pictures of Helen Levitt.
    If you’re more on the geeky side of photography, you might like Marc Levoy’s Lectures on Digital Photography.
    Totally not interesting, but just to be social: me @ Instagram, and 500 pixels.

--

--

Francisco Solsona

Skeptic, googler (developers & startups), traveler, runner, and n00b in many things; like photography, gaming, and blogging.