My admission format into the university and the disappointments | Admissions into Nigeria Universities.

Somie Kast
3 min readJul 16, 2024

--

Y’all probably know how admissions run, at least for those in Nigeria.

Photo by Vinicius "amnx" Amano on Unsplash

How it’s done

Apply for the CBT based exams controlled by the JAMB administration, take the exam (which is a day thing) and constantly check for updates on what your choice of institution is saying concerning their admissions for new candidate and cutoff marks for your department.

ps; not everyone uses this format to enter the university as they are now various forms in which one can enter the universities, these includes;

*Direct entry (D.E)which comes in various forms such as; Joint University Preliminary Examination Board (JUPEB), Pre degree, etc.

*Scholarships which majority are obviously aware of .

D.E entry is the most common thus far I have seen. Which I will recommend, it takes you through a one year degree program of your course of study after which you write the board exams. If you pass you get into year two (200lvl) in the university you carried out the program or you can do change of institution if you don’t end up liking the school. Your chances of getting offered by another institution might be low. But, I will recommend you do the program at your desired Uni.

>>>>

My Entry

I finally got accepted to my second choice University (Ebonyi State University) through a one year D.E program which will lead me directly into 200 level (year two). Based on my grade which they called “points” I wasn’t given my desired course which was medicine and surgery (Med Surg) instead, I was given Medical Laboratory Science in year one (100 level).

This really brought me to my lowest point as I was not expecting any of this, because with my points I was told that I will be given Med Surg but will still have to be in year one. Yet this didn’t happen and I was pissed off but at the same time I found peace … which was weird.

I remembered asking God that I wanted to be in the Campus, and belong to a particular Set .

(at the time when I was doing the program I was not in the Campus but a different area still within the University).

So I had no Uni encounter then and I was not an undergraduate. I think the thought of the fact that I was going to be given reg number (matric number) as a fresh student and that I will do my matriculation (which was successful) and also be fully given the file of an official undergraduate by my University was actually what made me grateful during the disappointments.

After a week of the hustle and bustle, with my mother by my side, towards getting a lodge and just making sure that I was settled and ready for the school year, we said our good byes and she went back home while I remained in school with my lovely roommate (we knew each other before because we went to the same program) we paved our way in paying all our fees and signing all the necessary school buzzes in order to get our reg numbers to become an official undergraduate. We did everything as Freshers and began school as Freshers.

Finally an UNDERGRADUATE!

NOW THE JOURNEY BEGINS!!!

Wish me luck 🤞

Published on 5/22/21 10:21 AM

Much Love From Me

--

--

Somie Kast

A documentation of my journey to becoming a Medical Laboratory Scientist. I left Bloggers to Medium to document my journey, hopeful to inspire someone out there