Is it possible to say ‘no comment’ without saying ‘no comment’?

Sonam Arora
3 min readApr 20, 2019

--

I conduct a lot of sessions on Business English basics for an IT company and there are certain questions which come up regularly. On an average, I would be prepared to answer any questions that come my way.

However, during one such session recently, while discussing an aspect of politeness, I was asked whether saying ‘No Comment’ is impolite and if it can be used in a business context. More than that, does it give out the same impression as a ‘no response’ to an e-mail?
I wasn’t expecting this to come up so it did present me the opportunity of using the expression itself in response. I knew better than to not use the two deadly words.
Though I managed to respond to the question, and the participant accepted my answer, I wasn’t quite satisfied with my own understanding. I kept thinking if we could actually use the expression appropriately in a business environment without:
A. evading the issue
and/or
B. being non-cooperative

Seasoned PR executives would compare those two words to admitting guilt or to waving a red flag in front of a bull. Rather than ending the line of inquiry, “no comment” typically prompts more questions and speculation.
But in a conference call with a client or while on discussion call with team members, you’re not in the same position as you would be as a media spokesperson confronted with a controversial question.
Nevertheless, Is it really possible to use those words without meaning either ‘A’ or ‘B’? I doubt. And sending out either message in an environment where everything is driven by numbers, is definitely not a good idea.
Moreover, silence is louder than words; hence making your silence even more evident with a phrase like ‘no comment’, would definitely not be in your favour.
So what options does one have, when one really prefers to ‘not comment’ or ‘not respond’ to a question in the moment it has been asked?
I think any response is always better than a ‘no response’ given that it is an appropriate one.

As far as language functions go, we always have an option.

A. Deflect the question back to another matter of equal or greater importance:
“That’s a good question but I would like to focus on (the topic) for the moment..”
“I think the answer is related to another important concern, which is …” “Actually the real issue here is…”

B. Say what you don’t know and what you do know:
“Given the current scenario/situation, I may not be able to answer right away but let me tell you that..”
“That’s not something I can answer right now, but what we do know is…”

C. Admit that you don’t have an answer, explain why and/or express a desire to cooperate:
“That is something I would need to clarify/discuss with XYZ. I should be able to get back to you on this by …(day/date)”
“I wish I could share that information with you, but we’re still awaiting confirmation on… Once we have complete information, we should be able to …”
“Unfortunately, I am not in a position to answer/discuss that right now, but we should be able to share that information with you soon…”

Though, it is easier said than done when contentious issues are brought up or even worse, when a crisis is at hand. But one can always be prepared beforehand with a standard response pattern for all possible questions.
Technically, the best practice in the long run, is to prepare responses to all possible contingencies and leave no room for ‘No Comment’. Of course, the story-lines would vary but you will definitely be wiser after each! :)

--

--

Sonam Arora

Always looking forward, never back. Multilingual. Poetry aficionado. Content writer. Canadian by choice, Indian at heart.