Python in 2019 Sounds Like an Unprofessional Garage Band Team

Sondre Kolaautomat
1 min readNov 23, 2019

--

It is 2019. I am a businessperson because I manage and invested in a few companies but I started coding when I was 8 years old and I am a CS graduate. I love computer science research and small projects development but I decided that my business career and my CS love should bifurcate even when they circle around the same industry: business are business and my passion should be as pure as it can.

I love the Python programming language and want to code something simple. I download the latest Python release (3.8) in Windows. I want to code in Microsoft Visual Studio Code but when I tried to install a simple package via pip there are a couple of errors based on “The package setup script has attempted to modify files on your system that are not within the EasyInstall build area, and has been aborted.”. This issue is already mentioned in Super User and other places but I cannot believe the Python foundation is not doing a minimal smoke test after decades in the “market”.

My hobby time has finished and my spouse and kids want attention again. I want to blame the Python foundation for destroying this precious time. I cannot believe the Python foundation cannot put a simple installation process in place that works. This is 2019.

P.S. I obviously tried this running pip as Administrator in Windows.

--

--