Life-line; Phones and the Internet

Sonia Singh
3 min readJun 3, 2020

--

Once upon a time an alarm clock, newspaper, television, radio, diary and pen used to be an integral part of my life. All this has been replaced by Phone and apps. A very tangible and useful thing minus love emotions and feelings.

It all started with a casual discussion with my daughter asking me”Mumma why do you have so few friends on social media?” I thought about it for a few seconds and my answer was “My few friends are my real friends, and not just virtual .These friends are with me through thick and thin and with these friends I enjoy the feelings in person rather than on few virtual pages.”

This question further deepened my thoughts .Being born and brought up in a joint family I never felt the need of anyone else beyond my cousins. We enjoyed our good times together improvising games fun filled activities and events. We lived through our tough times together holding hands and standing side by side. Whatever few friends I made were life-long.

Life has totally changed over the past few years with the entry of mobile phones and internet in our lives. Life has become totally virtual. My good-night’s and my good-morning’s are with the mobile, it has become like a haunting monster which keeps inviting me “Please check me once!!” Please , that one last message before I wind up the day. Haha. In the mornings instead of watching the beautiful sunrise I eagerly spend time with my mobile checking good morning messages and latest updates by my friends. Should I be blaming the mobile? No not at all. It has made life so easy and convenient. It has become a strong string of communication with the outside world. Technology brings multiple benefits literally everything is available with a click of a button. One can say it has become like a life-line or a line in our hands which is inseparable from us. The dependence of mobiles and internet has become so much that one feels literally handicapped without it.

I frantically start looking for my charger when my mobile is about to die, as if hell is going to break loose and the world is coming to an end.

97zokonline.com

Have you ever thought what if phones and internet die tomorrow? What next? It’s not that we never lived or we cannot do without them ,we have been doing fairly well without them. Mobiles and internet have been stealing our time knowingly or unknowingly we have been losing our happiness.

Without the internet and phones life is going to be a mixed bag. It saves our precious time but ironically it also wastes our time. Instead of social networking life people will have a good social life people will spend quality time with friends and family rather than surfing on the net. People will start enjoying the lovely sunrise and have wonderful conversations over a cup of tea. Communication will be enjoyable and great because people will walk up to each other and talk.

With it gone our convenience would definitely take a dive but many good things will happen. How many events or phone numbers do you actually remember? With the mobile and internet gone your cognitive strength will increase. You will not be worried about your mobile and internet crashing. One can enjoy hands on experience about things. People will become much more creative, imaginative, healthy and active. They will visit monuments and libraries and feel them rather than just browse them over the internet.

en.dopl3r.com

The pros and cons are endless. Humans are flexible species and know how to adjust. There are two perspectives to everything this depends on you what’s yours.

en-gb.facebook.com

--

--

Sonia Singh
0 Followers

Homemaker. Passionate about travel and food. Pet mom.