On a Role with Clint James

Sonia ThrillMe Campbell
6 min readOct 5, 2017

--

Clint James himself

Being a working actor is no easy feat. From the outside looking in, there’s often a misconception from the public that it’s a “cushy” job with all perks and no hard work. In actuality, the struggle is real! Between getting auditions, staying on top of your craft, dealing with rejections, and hustling your ass off, the average actor trying to break through works extremely hard. And the rewards sometimes aren’t seen for years, if at all.

To me, it seems like being a traveling sales person, where the commodity you’re trying to pitch is yourself. To get a clearer understanding of just what it’s like to be a working actor in the industry, I had a chat with actor Clint James.

Clint has had roles in various productions, from The Magnificent Seven (2016), to Salem, to NCIS: New Orleans and Preacher. He is from Louisiana, but raised in Missouri. He joined the Air Force after high school, then after 9 years of service, Clint left the military in 2002 to pursue acting full time.

Check out the interview below, and be sure to watch Clint’s reel.

Tell me about the worst audition experience you’ve ever had.

Well there’s been a few but I think the most memorable one would have to be when I auditioned for Sofia Coppola. I was in the bathroom with a great friend of mine who’s a well known actor, not saying any names, and I took a leak. I went into the audition after him and thought I had a good read but when I went to the bathroom afterwards I noticed my zipper was down. I told my buddy and he said I just may get the part because of that. I didn’t get the part.

What’s a common misconception about actors?

Well it depends on who’s asking. I think if it’s someone outside the business that’s asking I feel a lot of people are led to believe that we’re loaded with cash just because we’re working. Everyone has to understand that we have a lot of downtime and we’re always playing catch up. At least that’s what I go through. I can’t speak for all actors but the ones I know who work a lot do the same thing. There’s nothing glamorous about it.

What would be a dream role for you?

I’d like to do a true to life story. That would be cool.

Tell me about the project(s) you’re working on currently. What’s coming up next for you?

I’m currently working on The Oath, Crackle’s upcoming original drama series, explores a world of gangs made up of those sworn to protect and defend and sheds light on corrupt and secret societies that are nearly impossible to join — only a select few make the cut–but once inside, members will do what they must to protect each other from enemies on the outside and from within their own ranks. The series stars “Game of Thrones” alum, Sean Bean, Ryan Kwanten (“True Blood”) and a talented ensemble including Katrina Law (“Training Day”), Cory Hardrict (American Sniper, Gran Torino), Arlen Escarpeta (“The Magicians”) and J.J. Soria (“Animal Kingdom,” “The Fosters”). Created by Joe Halpin (“Hawaii Five-O,” “Secrets and Lies”), who worked as a Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department deputy in South Los Angeles for 17 years, 12 of which as an undercover officer, The Oath takes ‎an unforgiving look at the complicated dynamics in these organizations and documents the lives of those willing to risk it all, to have it all. The Oath is executive produced by Curtis “50 Cent” Jackson and his G-Unit Film & Television Inc., Todd Hoffman and Dennis Kim of Storied Media Group, Anne Clements and Joe Halpin who is also creator, writer and showrunner. I play Sanders who is the new leader of the Berserkers. His gang is the only one not caught in the grasp of Neckbone’s influence. He is a troublemaker and likes to let the Berserkers run wild in their rise to the top of the underworlds ranks. The Oath will be released in early 2018 on Crackle.

For actors just starting out, what would be your biggest piece of advice?

Patience, persistence and perseverance.

Your career has really been ramping up — what do you attribute to this success?

Louisiana Talent Agency, Lawrence and Fiona Turner. Also, not waiting. Creating my own opportunities. Going where the work is. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. It’s been nothing but sacrifice.

Do you have any mentors? Tell me about them.

I have mentors. Close friends of mine that work a lot like P.J Marshall, Sean Bridgers and Rob Valentine. My mentors are people who do. My buddy Jordan next door reads scenes with me. He works for the city. Everyone that I served in the Air Force and those that continue.

What do you love most, and what do you dislike most, about acting?

What I love most is creating, what I dislike most is waiting to go on set to finish my creation.

You portrayed a character named Bird Dick Man in the TV series Salem. How was that experience?

I was naked. Butt naked from the waste down with the camera 2 feet from my crotch. I came on in Season 2 Ep 1 and had to do a kissing scene with Sammi Hanratty while being castrated by Elise Eberle which lead me to most of season 3. So thank you Elise for the castration. It worked out.

You had the part of Fenton in Magnificent Seven. Tell me about your experience working on this film — what are some of your best memories from that set?

I met a lot of amazing actors. I mostly hung out with the supporting cast who we’re fantastic, who we’ve all became close friends. Mark Ashworth was great as well as Sean Bridgers, David Kallaway, Griff Furst, Carrie Lazar, Rob Mello, Matthew Posey, Billy Slaughter, Dane Rhodes, Sean Boyd, Jody Mullins, Alix Angelis, Johnathan Joss, William Lee Scott, Cedric D. Jones and of course Ritchie Montgomery but a lot of times we would be in holding with Chris Pratt, Ethan Hawke, Vincent Denofrio, Byung-hun Lee, Manuel Garcia-Rulfo, Martin Sensmeier, Peter Sarsgaard, Luke Grimes and of course Haley Bennett. So Spend over 3 months with that crew you can only imagine the stories. Didn’t see much of Denzel except for on set but he was nice. Matt Bomer was a really nice dude too. Everyone was great. I loved the experienced. I know I just rattled off a lot of names but damn if they all weren’t fantastic.

What’s been your most challenging role and why?

I think the most challenging was earlier in my career because most of the films I did were for free. So getting the gas money just to get to set and perform was a bitch in itself.

Why did you decide to act, and how did you start out?

I was just a kid. My father had an 8 mm camera that he would take our home movies with when we were kids. I remember the camera broke so I took it apart and fixed it. Leaned how to splice film, project. I loved watching Johnny Carson with my Dad. My mother also took us to the theater every month to watch musicals which I was always amazed and floored about how brave everyone was. Cool times.

What role are you the most proud of so far?

The one that paid my electric bill. I think there’s one.

How do you deal with rejections as an actor?

I’m numb so I haven’t felt rejection for years.

What’s a typical day like for you?

I get up and bash my head against the wall while praying for an audition. Sometimes I eat oatmeal.

Read more Crown Chimp interviews and blogs on filmmaking at crownchimp.com/blog

--

--