Mapping AWS, Google Cloud, Azure Services to Big Data Warehouse Architecture

Uli Bethke
2 min readJun 28, 2017

Below is a representation of the big data warehouse architecture. I won’t go into the details of the features and components. If you want to find out more about the gory details I recommend my excellent training course Big Data for Data Warehouse and BI Professionals.

Teach me Big Data to Advance my Career

So how do the components of the data warehouse map to the various services and products that are offered by the three most popular cloud platforms: Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, and Amazon AWS? A new product or service is almost launched each week. It can get quite daunting to keep track of what is going on. The table below makes it easy to map the various cloud services against the big data warehouse architecture. I have also included a column that lists some open source components to make it easier to compare. Please note that this list is by no means exhaustive, as there are literally hundreds of open source tools that do similar things. I have just listed those that I have had some exposure to.

Originally published at sonra.io on June 28, 2017.

--

--