Endless Diamond: An Interview with Devon Allman

Sonya Alexander
3 min readJan 17, 2018

--

As the Shirley Bassey song goes, some people are just “born to sing the blues.” Multi-talented singer/songwriter Devon Allman is just such a person; the blues is stamped in his DNA. In mid-November of this year, the founding member of the Honeytribe took the time to talk with lodeplus.com about how he creates his own special brand of Allman joy through his music.

Examiner: When did you first pick up a guitar?

Devon Allman: At 13. I was at a friend’s house. My friend played guitar and I starting playing around with it. I didn’t grow up in an Allman Brothers’ world. I grew up in the suburbs. I had to find my sound. When I was about 15, I performed in the church.

Examiner: Have you ever felt any pressure being related to Southern Rock royalty?

DA: No, I’ve never felt any pressure. The process has always been organic for me. By the time I was 19, I knew I’d have to make my own way in the business, maintain my own style. I’m not in this to be “famous,” I’m doing it because I love it.

Examiner: What’s your creative process?

DA: To live life. I draw from a well of experience. Sometimes when I’m driving, I might get an idea and start singing…!

Examiner: Who are some of your greatest musical influences?

DA: The Rolling Stones, Curtis Mayfield, Al Green…I’ve had diverse influences.

Examiner: What’s your favorite type of venue to perform int?

DA: Small, tiny blues clubs…like the Iridium.

Examiner: If you weren’t a musician, what do you think you’d be?

DA: Probably an astro physicist, a saucier (I like to cook!), or an actor.

Examiner: How have you seen the music business change since you’ve been in it?

DA: Actually, it hasn’t changed that much in the last ten years. Now is the best time, though, to be a musician because you have more control over your career.

Examiner: What are you currently working on?

DA: I have a side band, Royal Southern Brotherhood, which was the brainchild of my manager. Cyril Neville and Mike Zito are in the band. We’re going to start touring in April of 2012. This week I’ll be performing on the Rock Legends cruise to the Bahamas with ZZ Top and Dicky Betts. This is my first time doing one of these, I’m looking forward to it! Honeytribe will be hitting the road in August and September of next year.

Examiner: When and how did the Honeytribe come about?

DA: I started the band back in 1999. I was doing alternative rock and trying to find my style. When I felt like what I was playing was forced, I stepped away and asked myself, “Why do I do it?” My performing is based on an ethos. So, I stole all the best players and formed the Honeytribe!

--

--