I Tried 5 Popular Mental Health Apps. Here’s What Happened

Sophia S.B.
8 min readJun 20, 2020

Note: This article is not sponsored. My opinions are 100% honest. I did not pay for the Premium versions of any of these apps. I am not using them in coordination with real-life therapy appointments.

1.) Fabulous — Daily Self Care

I’d heard a lot of amazing things about this mental health app. Supposedly, I would be drinking more water, waking up more easily, have a cleaner space to work in, and have better peace of mind.

The Fabulous app prides itself on its artistic, easy-to-use design. It comes with built-in soundtracks, ambiance noises, and specially designed backgrounds for user enjoyment. Basically, the app is curated to be a safe space: something pleasant to look at and listen to while working towards better mental health. From a viewing standpoint, it definitely delivers.

The other unique thing about the Fabulous app is that it takes its time in getting you to where you’re going. The recommended user path is that you add one positive step to your daily routine every day. For me, my first step was to drink a glass of water every morning, right when I woke up. Supposedly, it would wake me up more quickly and hydrate me so I would feel more refreshed. And, yes, it worked! The app let out a chime for me every morning at 6:30, right after I woke up, so that I wouldn’t forget to hydrate.

--

--

Sophia S.B.

Uncovering the unknown stories behind the authors, filmmakers, and media-makers you love.