To The Colour Orange: I’m Sorry

Sophie Evans
4 min readDec 23, 2021

--

We’ve gone from It’s Complicated to Swipe Right.

I have not been kind or considerate to the colour orange. While online shopping, filters would exclude any shred of tangerine or terracotta in favour of classic black, white, blue and navy, or even recent ventures into red, pink and purple.

I professed that it simply wasn’t right for my skin tone, that it would wash me out, or very discriminatorily, that I really didn’t like the colour orange for no justifiable reason.

It wasn’t until coming into the spring and summer wedding season where style panic set in. I was already searching for pink and lilac options in silky slips or structured strapless mini dresses, considering a skirt or pant set for about a second.

And then I fell in love.

It was a Zara dress and so unlike me to fall for. A slip dress in a beautiful golden tangerine shade with a mandatory front split (in my book, at least), and asymmetric double-cord strap, one shoulder design.

The lusted after Satin Camisole Dress in the Zara Spring/Summer 2021 collection.

Based on previous orange defying behaviour, I saved the dress in my Zara app wish list and thought about it. And thought about it. Until it was out of stock. I seriously considered all options including asking a friend to get her cousin in Canberra to buy me the last one in my size. (Frustratingly, Zara wasn’t able to ship my size to Melbourne from elsewhere.) I was shattered when I realised I had missed out due to my sartorial indecision.

Selections in orange from Zara’s Spring/Summer ’21 collection.

Zara’s Spring/Summer ‘21 collection was awash with beautiful orange hues from mini skirts to rib dresses. Cut-outs welcome as always with ruched detailing as is in trend. Although, none would compare to the one that got away.

Aje’s Resort 2022 show, shown on the runway in October, also contributed to my newfound desire for orange with stunning marigold numbers, as well as Stabilo highlighter hues of neon green and pink; Capri lemon and white.

A ruched, balloon sleeve pleated dress from Aje’s Resort 2022 collection.
Orange hued dresses in the By Johnny collection.

Once I started lusting after orange, it was hard to ignore it – every label was including it in their summer collections! By Johnny’s solid sunny shades came in structured shapes and are dream choices for wedding season. Paired with fuchsias and lilacs, local label Kookai heralded marigold as a key shade for summer.

When my workplace’s Christmas party invite stated “dress to impress”, I simply couldn’t think of anything else I wanted to wear aside from a strapless mini dress. Kookai’s Oyster Strapless Mini Dress met all the criteria and was surprisingly available in a gorgeous orange shade, despite initially being keen on the hot pink — which I must admit I may still splurge on.

Kookai’s Oyster Strapless Mini Dress in Sunrise and Brady Midi Skirt in white and orange gingham.

Coincidentally, my newfound love for orange aligned with my beauty routine at a similar time. Beautiful peach and coral shades are a day-to-day mainstay for flushing cheekbones and eyelids, and red-orange is the colour du jour for lips.

I quickly snapped up Fenty Beauty’s limited-edition Resting Peach Face Cream Blush + Gloss Duo during Christmas gift shopping (naturally). Contrary to previous belief, the hue perfectly complements my skin tone — and has been noticed with friendly compliments!

Fenty Beauty’s limited-edition Resting Peach Face Cream Blush + Gloss Duo.

As for the search for the perfect new lip colour, I couldn’t go past my beloved Chanel. #96 in the Rouge Allure collection is now my summer go-to, and who knows? Perhaps it’s a personal shade stalwart.

96 Chanel Rouge Allure lipstick in shade #96 Excentrique.

Following a long lockdown feeling more grey and blue than orange, it’s time to bring back colour! From a sartorial palette of black, white and navy to red, pink and orange, I have really surprised myself and am preparing for a wardrobe overhaul. I may not be entering a Gorman level of colour and prints yet, but accents of bold colours are certainly on the list.

--

--

Sophie Evans

Obsessed with fashion magazines. Attempting to write a book. Believe the full stop is severely underused. Advocate for the Oxford comma. @sophevans on Instagram