Here’s why you should finish the main quest in Starfield before doing anything else — without spoilers

Sophie Ulanoff
4 min readSep 17, 2023

--

Screenshot of image taken in Starfield’s photo mode with playable character in a space suit to the left with back facing the camera, facing towards a bright sunrise on a barren landscape on Mercury.
In-game image of my Starfield player looking at the sunrise on a desolate planet. (Credit: Sophie Ulanoff)

I have played Starfield every single day since 8pm EST on August 31st and according to my Xbox app, I have played 85 hours so far. 85 hours, and I just finished the main questline last night, despite the fact that as of right now it has a record of being completed within 3 hours. I estimate that if you’re not speed-running it, you could do it in under 15 hours, probably less.

I don’t regret spending so much time in the world of Starfield before finally completing the main quest, but I was one of those people who spent the first few days very frustrated that I couldn’t find a straight answer on why I should focus on the main quest without it being spoiled. I’m here to try to help people who found themselves in the same situation.

If you’re like me, you lean towards a completionist gamer but you’re not aiming for the 100%; you just don’t want to miss anything worthwhile and get as much out of the game as it’s willing to give. If you’ve played any Bethesda games prior, you know that they make vast worlds filled with lore and people and things to do.

From my time playing Fallout: New Vegas and Fallout 4, I knew there was going to be lots to explore, and I ignored the second main quest for days. As I chipped away slowly at the main quest, I surveyed planets, I joined factions, I did companion quests. I don’t regret this, but now I understand now why some things (like purchasing and decorating property or setting up two outposts) I would have been better off skipping for now.

One thing that needs to be said before I try to explain why you want to dedicate yourself to the main quest rather than spend too much time exploring this universe: the world, the quests, everything will be there after the main quest. I know you probably knew that if you’re not new to Bethesda games, but it’s still worth being said. It’s all still there waiting for you after the credits roll.

Now, here’s what I think will help to alleviate any wariness towards completing the main quest; I think a lot of confusion arose from people trying to advise that you complete the main quest first by referring to the game afterwards as “New Game+” If you’re a seasoned gamer, you know New Game+ is usually a feature you unlock after completing a game that allows you to start a new save with some extra boons and perks and power. I personally had no desire to rush through a game just to start a new save.

Well, good news; you don’t start a new save. You are still you, you’re still in the save you’ve grown to know and love, and you can continue forward. Now, you’re probably wondering what is so special about it if nothing changes? Well, that’s the thing. A lot changes. So much. While also staying the same.

I apologize if that is frustratingly vague, but my goal here is to clear up any confusion surrounding “New Game+” as well as assure completionists that they won’t regret completing the main quest first.

I don’t recommend ignoring every extra quest, task, opportunity that may come your way. Like I said earlier, some things like outposts, property, etc., you probably want to skip, but joining a faction, doing some NPC-assigned tasks, still have their benefits. They also will benefit you in leveling up and earning credits because you definitely cannot complete this game without some power to your character as well as a good ship. Definitely invest in a good ship.

Listen, if this article still didn’t convince you to focus on the main quest, I’ll tell you that the story itself eventually will. Complete the mission “Unity” which will eventually be assigned by Matteo, and you will realize you don’t want to do anything other than continue the story. I know I didn’t; it immediately pulled me further into the plot and I had to see where things were going and find out more.

There’s ultimately no wrong way to play this game, but Todd Howard himself — Starfield’s game director — would suggest you start focusing on the main story. So give it some consideration; maybe don’t complete every faction quest or survey an entire star system before the credits roll.

You’ll see what I mean.

Read more from me:

Horizon: Forbidden West is a masterwork in open-world RPG gaming

The Invincible — a walking simulator with environmental storytelling that forces you to grapple with the ethical implications of humanity’s right to discovery

--

--