What Hillary Clinton and my mom taught me

Sophie Kim Goldmacher
4 min readJul 30, 2016

--

To say that Hillary Clinton has inspired my life sounds like an overstatement. Except it’s not. I’ve become more convinced of this as time passes, and this week in particular. She’s the woman I admire most besides my mom.

I was in high school when I took my first trip to Washington, DC. President Bill Clinton was in the White House at the time and Hillary Clinton was our First Lady. Even before this trip to Washington, I had admired Hillary Clinton. But it was on this trip that I first came to question and understand what it meant to be a Democrat and a Republican. I was growing into political consciousness and my head and my heart told me that I was a Democrat. I became convinced that Hillary Clinton embodied all the things I admired in a leader and public servant. The fact that she was a woman and an unconventional First Lady made her an even greater role model. I’ve never wanted to be First Lady, a U.S. Senator, Secretary of State, or President.

I’ve only ever aspired to work in public service and that was inspired by Hillary Clinton. Because to me, that is what defines who she is.

I knew since high school that I wanted to major in political science, but I was less sure of where I wanted to go to college. So, as I was preparing to apply to colleges, the thought occurred to me one day,

“I wonder where Hillary Clinton went to school?”

She was smart, bold, confident, articulate, and poised — where did she learn to be so exceptional, I wondered? It was the fall of 2001. Hillary Clinton was then the U.S. senator from New York.

I soon discovered a place called Wellesley College. Deciding ultimately to go to Wellesley was one of the best decisions of my life because I know I would not be where I am today or be the person I’ve become had I not.

Those who know me know (and even strangers soon learn) that I am tireless when it comes to my alma mater —incredibly proud of its history, legacy, and values.

And, like so many other Wellesley women, I went to Wellesley because of Hillary Clinton.

I recognize my story is not unique, but it is personal.

I had the privilege of attending the Democratic National Convention this past week and witnessing Hillary Clinton become the first female nominee of a major party for President of the United States. It was an emotional experience, and a reminder for me of how deeply personal this election is.

One of the things that resonated most with me from Hillary’s acceptance speech was when she referenced her mother, who she credits for her resilience. Another subtle yet poignant moment from the convention for me was when Senator Claire McCaskill said, “I miss my mom,” moments after casting Missouri’s delegates to nominate Hillary Clinton for president.

I could relate. An overwhelming feeling I have had all week is that I miss my mom, too.

Ten years ago, I lost my mom to pancreatic cancer, during my senior year of college. She was a single mother who raised two daughters who went to college and eventually got advanced degrees, then pursued their passions — opportunities that my mom, an immigrant from South Korea, did not have. One of eight children, she graduated from high school, a luxury for a modest family in 1950s Korea. Still, she was a natural leader, elected as class president. She volunteered for mayoral and presidential campaigns in her youth, following in the footsteps of her activist mother, my maternal grandmother, who I never met.

The legacy of my grandmother and mom are deeply rooted in me and influence how I see and experience the world, including Hillary Clinton’s campaign for president. This line, from a video of Hillary’s life played at the convention, gave voice to that feeling:

“Any parent knows your every dream for the future beats in the heart of your child. Chelsea’s heart beats Hillary’s dreams, and Hillary’s heart beats Dorothy’s. It’s how we are made.”

This was true for my mom, who made every sacrifice to ensure the brightest future for my older sister and me. Despite not knowing what or where Wellesley was, she took a leap of faith in sending me to college 3,000 miles from home. All she knew was that Hillary had gone there. That was enough to know it was good enough for me.

She didn’t get to see me graduate from college. She did not get to experience the history that I witnessed this week. And she won’t be here to see us inaugurate the first female President of the United States.

Next January marks the anniversary of my mom’s life and I will be thinking of her and the profound impact she and Hillary Clinton have had on my own. As Hillary said,

“Standing here as my mother’s daughter, and my daughter’s mother, I’m so happy this day has come. Happy for grandmothers and little girls and everyone in between.”

I’m happy, too. As my mother’s daughter, my heart is full knowing that my mom, a fierce feminist and avid Hillary supporter, would be so proud. And I’m thankful that because of people like Hillary Clinton, the sky is truly the limit.

Growing up, it’s something my mom always told me.

--

--

Sophie Kim Goldmacher

Mom, wife, daughter. Former @GUPolitics Director of Programming & @WHFellows Deputy Director in @BarackObama WH.