How might we fix an ill-matched door lock?

30 Solutions #2

Sophie Kuan
2 min readFeb 3, 2024

Introduction

Life is full of shrugs. You find something inconvenient, but it’s too minor to prompt you to make a change. You just shrug, bear with it, and let it go.

What if you take action and make the change?

This is the project that I pledge to find solutions for those bothersome little things.

Problem

Our bedroom door creates a funny ta-ta-ta-ta noise when closed, driving my husband and me nuts on windy nights. After a careful examination, I found that the door lock is ill-matched by approximately 1/4 inch, causing a gap between the slab and the frame and resulting in the noise.

Solution

A small piece of foam sheet that comes with IKEA glassware wrapping comes in handy. I fold the foam sheet and insert it into the edge bore to fill the extra gap between the edge bore and the latch bolt, as well as between the slab and the frame when the door is closed.

Constraints and Trade-offs

My foam-insert “device” resolved the mechanical issue and eliminated the annoying noise, but it occasionally falls out of place. While I could use tape or glue to secure it, I choose to put up with the occasional drop to secure our deposit since we are living in an apartment. 🤪

--

--