Hekate Speaks

Sorita d’Este
1 min readJul 22, 2019

Every story needs a beginning. It is rarely possible to go back to the “beginning” because where did it really start? I will begin by sharing these words, spoken by my lips in the Summer of 2001 in a magical ceremony dedicated to the Goddess Hekate.

Hekate Speaks

I am the Guardian of the Mysteries
The Guardian of the Serpent Power
Whom you have called upon time and time again
Hekate the beauteous
Hekate of the crossroads
Of Heaven of Earth of Sea
Of Life of Death of Rebirth
I am the Saffron Clad Terrible Queen
Feared, Hated, Loved
I will lead you into the shadows and Light the darkest night
Tonight my chosen
I reveal that which is hidden and forbidden
My torches, will illuminate the way
To the inner most reaches of the self
where even you may fear to look
Yet there is power in the dark!

These words were also published in the devotional anthology, produced by a group of us back in 2006 — Hekate: Keys to the Crossroads.

--

--

Sorita d’Este

Author of Circle for Hekate, and many other books on mythology, magic, folklore and contemporary spirituality. See www.sorita.co.uk and www.avaloniabooks.co.uk