5 things I wish I had told myself as a new Graduate Software Engineer

Elizabeth Marfell
3 min readSep 24, 2022

This is the first in a series where I reflect on my first year as a Graduate Software Engineer.

1. You don’t need to know everything

Despite a degree in Computer Science, creating my own mobile app, and plenty of Udemy courses, I learnt more about software development on the job than I did in education (although it was a great background!).

My peers had little to no programming experience prior to starting this role, and we are all on a similar experience level.

So remember, it is okay to not know everything. You are a graduate, and have been employed to learn!

2. Don’t pretend to know everything!

It is easy to smile and nod along to a technical discussion you don’t understand, but it is more valuable to your development and understanding to ask questions. Gaining clarity on a topic can help mitigate the risk of making a mistake in the future.

Being found out later down the line to have not understood, despite portraying the contrary, doesn’t do much for your integrity!

3. Don’t compare yourself to your peers

We are all different. We have all had different journeys and life experiences, and it isn’t fair to yourself or others to make comparisons. You might be good at something someone else might be struggling at, and vice versa.

Recognising your differences and accepting them can help you learn from others. You will develop better relationships with your peers if you don’t think you are competing with them!

4. Not being busy all the time is okay

There will likely be down time as a Graduate, and it can sometimes make you feel like a spare part, but try and make the most of it!

Use that time to do some personal development or online technical training. Before you know it, you won’t even have time to think!

5. Be brave and just say hello!

Introducing yourself can some times be the hardest thing to do. Heck, I am still worrying about saying hi to someone I see in the office every week, but I know when I do, it’ll be expanding my network and future opportunities.

Building your network is really important at work, and will help get your name out there in the business. Also, you never know when Sally, who you said hi to by the coffee machine last month, might be the person that can help and assist you with a project.

Thank you for reading this post. I will be back soon with some more reflections!

--

--

Elizabeth Marfell

Software Engineer working for a FTSE 100 Global Information Services Company