Get it out of your mind : ‘’ I have no time’’

Soul Instincts
4 min readMar 7, 2018

--

Photo by Kevin on Unsplash

We actually have unlimited time to achieve what we want. Time is really precious and do not waste yours!

There is a sentence that I honestly believe that you hear everyday. I wonder if it sounds similar to you even if just a bit. Here is the sentence: ‘’I don’t have time.’’ Telling it frankly, I say these words everyday, again and again.

How many of you feel like a day is not enough for you? Do you feel like you are stuck in time? Well, are we in fact as busy as we think? I don’t think so, even if it was late to realize.

We all have twenty-four hours in a day. We all have the same time. How we spend our time is among the things that make us different from each other. Time is actually a choice and how we spend our time defines our priorities. When we say that we don’t have time, it actually doesn’t mean not having enough time but it is a decision taken by choosing what we prefer to do, so our priorities. Our problem about it is not a lack of time but a lack of clarity. The important one is not how busy we are but how important something is to us. I believe that we can somehow find time for what matters to us.

“Instead of saying “I don’t have time” try saying “it’s not a priority,” and see how that feels. Often, that’s a perfectly adequate explanation. I have time to iron my sheets, I just don’t want to. But other things are harder. Try it: “I’m not going to edit your résumé, sweetie, because it’s not a priority.” “I don’t go to the doctor because my health is not a priority.” If these phrases don’t sit well, that’s the point. Changing our language reminds us that time is a choice. If we don’t like how we’re spending an hour, we can choose differently.”
Wall Street Journal

Photo by Loic Djim on Unsplash

When we are truly driven and have strong desire, we commit ourselves to do what we want. In our busy and vivid life, I wish we could just shut all down and just turn off everyone else’s troubles and just get lost in wine and Netflix all day, having the mood ‘’drinking wine, feeling fine.’’ By the way, wine helps boost your mood, let’s keep in mind. Sorry but life is not that cute. Time is flexible, it shelters committed souls and whatever we choose to put into it.

Let’s look through our daily life in a few words. Have you ever thought how much time do you spend watching TV and doing nothing at all but puttering around? Do you know how much time do you spend on Facebook or Instagram during the day? I suppose that you would be suprised when you realize how much time you spend on these things and away from your friends or family. Don’t get me wrong just right here because as I state, it is just a priority. Once we replace ‘’I have no time’’ with ‘’it’s not a priority’’ we will see how things are going to change. What I want to state is that if we become aware of how our time is spent, it may help us to use our time efficiently. Analyzing where our precious time is going have importance.

As J.D. Roth, founder of Get Rich Slowly, stated during his talk at World Domination Summit:

‘’It’s not what we say is a priority, but what we actually DO that’s a priority.’’

Related to our topic, I want to share a video about why not having enough time is not an excuse to achieve.

As Laura Vanderkam states: ‘’We don’t build the lives we want by saving time. We build the lives we want, and then time saves itself.’’

We should keep in mind that small moments can have great power and there is absolutely time. Starting today, we are no longer allowed to say this sentence: ‘’I have no time.’’ Let’s see how things going to change.

Photo by Joe Hu on Unsplash

Thanks for reading!

If you liked this story, feel free to 👏👏 a few times. (Up to 50 times, seriously) Comments or questions are welcome below.

You can also read ‘’ Create Your Own Possibility’’ here and you can follow Soul Instincts.

--

--

Soul Instincts

Self Improvement, Productivity, Psychology. Believe in the person you want to become. Contact: soulinstincts.info@gmail.com