When life skids: The wake up call I never anticipated!

souravist
4 min readJul 16, 2023

--

“Oh Boy! Here, take your wristwatch!” — A young man, 19 year old something, came closer & extended his hand. I was still figuring out with my blurry vision!

What were these people doing around me on a country side road? I could sense these dirt all over my body and may be some smear of blood as well!

What should I do next?

Wondering on a Road! | AI Art by Stable Diffusion

Should I head towards the office? Anyway, I was getting late! Wasn’t I?

But wait!! My pants were torn, multiple bruises across body, top to bottom!

Then, would hospital, be my next destination? Or should I call the person whom I was supposed to pick 5 mins from then!

So much of confusions, when you crash-land on a surface, without even flying an airplane!

“Go home, before you get unconscious!”- The chain of thoughts broke to the voice of a person in the crowd.

Crash-Landed On the Road! | AI Art by Stable Diffusion

So, What happened 10 seconds back? Realizing I’ve got heavy scratches on my left side body, it’s my scooty which got skidded, an event I had never anticipated for this morning while rushing out of home with a singular agenda to beat the traffic light for one more day & arrive at the work!

But, today was different! Whether to blame the rain, or the road condition or my driving skillset or a combination of all three… This would remain a mystery!

Typical Rainfall in the morning| AI Art by Stable Diffusion

Oh Shit! My phone was switched off!! I fell on the left side, while the phone was on my right pocket! Can’t trust the device at a time of urgency, which could go on a coma with the appearance of a mini earthquake on its base! With the bloods flowing from everywhere, I managed to dial two numbers.

One was the person waiting for me on the way to office, whom I fabricated my delay for today as some important task, while the other one was my mom whom I had to deliver my news of homecoming!

The way back towards the home, with almost half senses & near blind vision couldn’t be explained with words!

Wounds, Blood & Rainfall..On the Way back to home | AI Art by Stable Diffusion

What followed next was a typical painful journey of waiting & waiting a bit more to get back to normalcy. Swallowing antibiotics, applying ointments, ensuring safety from infection via taking injections and feeling rigidity in doing even tiny task!

Twenty mins back, I was the busiest guy on the street with all the lofty aspirations for the day & cut-to this moment, I was crying for a recovery, while thanking the people who appeared all of a sudden from nowhere in my rescue & my family who did the first-aid to cease the flow of blood!

Life came to a halt, when you stay locked inside a room for near a week! It was a mandatory back in lockdown days, but couldn’t find that suitable anymore with a wounded soul!

Medicine, Mobile, Bed rest & repeat! | AI Art by Stable Diffusion

So, why am I sharing online about a sensitive matter like a road accident?

While applying those medicine over the bruises, feeling discomfort in simple movements and missing out the daily discipline of walking 7+ KM/Day, are definitely not some amusing experiences to sustain with.

#RoadSafety | By Mumbai Police

The sole purpose of maintaining this digital journal is to express the very human side of my life’s experiences, which is full of its own share of flaws & fortitude, tears & joy. This blog would remind me & others who read it, about, how precious this life is!

The scars on the helmet & the empty road on that day, makes me have gratitude for avoiding even larger dangers!

This event puts a brake on my craving to put on accelerator at all the times & prioritizing the care for myself & the people on the streets.

I got a reality check that, it could happen to anybody!

The show must go on! | Image on Pinterest

Somehow, till the time, someone is backed by the family, friends and well wishers around, no pain is strong enough to dodge him/her down.

Because in the end, No matter what… THE SHOW MUST GO ON!

--

--

souravist

Occasionally write ✍️pieces from personal life!