Black Samurai Switches Playing Field

Sawyer Pottinger
2 min readFeb 9, 2023

--

After becoming the first mixed race Japanese football player to appear in four different world cups and having a very successful football career Sawyer Pottinger announced on Tuesday that he will be hanging up his jersey for the last time. The one time Ballon D’or and two time World Cup MVP decided to end his football career after 17 seasons. We asked the former football player what is next for him.

“I’m too young to not be working, I’ll be on another field soon” Pottinger claimed when the press questioned him about what is next in his life. “I didn’t go to college for nothing” Pottinger further stated. The former footballer graduated college and has earned a masters in psychology prior to playing professional football.

Sawyer Pottinger has perhaps hinted that he will soon be applying for positions as a therapist. Also including the fact that Pottinger double majored in psychology and counseling.”Aw you got me, thats exactly what I’m planning on doing” Pottinger remarked when asked if therapist was his next career goal.

As Sawyer Pottinger age 45, Enters his medical career we asked fans how they would feel about the switch in professions. “I’m not quite sure how I feel about it yet, I know he was a fantastic football player but therapist?” We had many skeptical fans and many mixed responses.

“I think he’ll do great. He’s been a great football player and father with his determination heck, why can’t he?” Pottinger’s wife responded while along side his two children, son (18) and daughter (16).

“I’ve played well and I’ve studied well now I just want to use my knowledge to actual use” Pottinger added. Pottinger will be taking the National Counselor Examination this upcoming spring. Should he make high remarks upon this test could possibly further progress his goals of becoming therapist in the near future.

--

--